Sunshine Award

Thanks to Container Chronicles for giving me the Sunshine Award, which is an award given to bloggers who have been inspirational.

sunshine-award-1The rules are simple:

  1. Nominate 10 other bloggers.
  2. Give 11 facts about yourself.

Now for the hard part – coming up with 11 things to share with you!

1. Yesterday I got a text from Mr. T.

Wanna have lunch with me today?! I am in the mood for Taco Casa… I would love if you could bring me some.

How does a mom say no to that? 🙂 I love, love, love the fact that my teenager still enjoys spending time with his mom.  I love the fact that he enjoys when my hair is purple and isn’t embarrassed by it, and yes, I know that he really wanted Taco Casa (a really good fast food Mexican restaurant for those of you not lucky enough to have one!) but the fact that I got to come along with it was Awesome!

2. My friend Erica and I text pictures of our food to each other.  While it’s not normally a competition (usually it’s more of a validation “Look! I cooked!”), yesterday it turned into one.  She sent me a great shot of her lunch:

E lunch

And in return, I sent back this, with the caption “I win”.

lunch with Mr T

Her husband is contesting my “win” currently, but really, I don’t care how bad my bean burritos were compared to her bruschetta chicken, cause my teenage son invited me to sit with him at the table with four of his friends!

3. Here is the tweet that Mr. T sent out after I left.  (Mom, just skip this next part, it was funny in context, I swear it was!)

T tweets

Yes, my son’s Twitter handle is currently Master Sex Appeal.  Yes, he is making a duck face in the photo.  Yes, he’s wearing makeup.  But, we were practicing our Halloween make up that night, and then because it was so funny, we were making duck faces and taking selfies.

4. I cannot make a duck face.  I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, but apparently the duck face selfie is not for me.  I heard all of you sighing in relief!  You thought I was going to subject you to a duck face selfie, didn’t you?

5.  When my son goes out of town, I tend to live on PB&J and cereal.  My friends tend to call and make sure I’ve had the PB&J and make sure I’m not just living on cereal.

6. My dad instilled in me a love of Science Fiction and I like to indulge as often as I can.

Star Trek predicting the future

7. You all know that when Dean Winchester comes to life he will be mine.  Mine I tell you! MINE!

Dean Winchester

8.  I found out today that one of my best friends and I have been friends for 29 years.  That makes me sound older than I really am!

9.  I have multiple ghost/haunted house related activities on my Bucket List.  I’m actually pretty sad that my house isn’t haunted.

10.  MeatLoaf is one of my favorite artists.  Seeing him in concert was a magical experience!

IMG_1028

11.  I have a Lion King tattoo.  Sort of.  I have an infinity symbol with Hakuna Matata woven in, and I worked hard for that!  Hakuna Matata is Swahili and it really does mean “no worries”.

And now, 10 bloggers that have inspired me, both in the blogosphere and in real life:

  1. Surviving the Madhouse
  2. Winding Road
  3. Little Steps
  4. Orts of Sorts
  5. Soul Healing Art
  6. Mummy Flying Solo
  7. My Journey to Live an Authentic Life
  8. Kids “R” Simple
  9. Me, Myself and Kids
  10. Graced by Emilie

Please take a moment to visit those I’ve listed above and show some love!  Tell them Kate sent you! 🙂

And, now, in honor of Hakuna Matata, here are some bloopers from the movie:

33 thoughts on “Sunshine Award

  1. Congratulations on your nomination…it is so well deserved! Thank you for all you do to inspire and motivate me…

    Your posts always leave me with liquid coming from my eyes in one fashion or another! I was laughing at the duck face photo and condom text, but LOVE the big win with your lunch! You are an inspiring woman and one hell of a mom! I’ve always been a Meatloaf fan (not the food) and think he is one of the best parts of Rocky Horror! I know you will find this hard to believe, but I love The Lion King and still cry when I watch it! I love peanut butter and honey sandwiches more than PB&J… but firmly believe that peanut butter is a staple in life. I am thrilled that you admit to loving Sci Fi, because that makes me feel like much less of a dork – since you are so cool. I am pretty sure my parents house is home to some ghosts, as I recall one visiting me when I was a small child. It wasn’t scary so I don’t consider it ‘haunted’.

    Thank you again for sharing your lovable, laughable life!

    • Thank you so much Kathrine! I love peanut butter and honey! 😉 I’m so glad that you have enjoyed reading my posts and I’m honored that you take the time to do so, as I know how busy your life is!

      I love The Lion King, so when I finally learned how to not sweat the small stuff (for the most part!), it was just perfect when I found the Hakuna Matata in the infinity symbol 🙂

  2. I so love your humor. we all need “TV boyfriends” – right? And, i really like the idea of the “Look I cooked!” photo exchange between friends. I need all the incentive I can get and this just may work. thanks for adding such light to the world.

  3. Nawwwwww you picked me! Thanks so much Kate. I am honoured. You have inspired me plenty too. I love the relationship you seem to have with your son. I hope I can do just as well when my little monkey is a teenager. How good is Lion King? One of my all time favourite movies. Thanks for sharing the bloopers. x

  4. I eat pb&j every week day (sometimes substitute a banana) so I think that sounds like a good diet to me.
    I agree with you – I think it’s so cool that your son texts you and wants to have lunch with you. That’s a testament how much he enjoys your company.

  5. Fictional TV boyfriends are the BEST! And even though I banned paradise from our wedding, I love Meatloaf too. Mr T is the cutest. You raised a nice boy. You are my inspiration! I hope at least one of mine wants to hang with me when he’s a teenager!

  6. Oh dear, thanks Kate and Tracie! I feel so loved 🙂 Well, the feeling is mutual for both of you 🙂 Thanks so much Kate for this one… will definitely do this too! Though my blog-post might be a little late. Going through something really stressful right now, I’m actually missing out on reading/commenting on my other favourite bloggers! Yikes. I agree with Tracie, love your relationship with Mr. T. Hopefully, little T and I will have that too especially when she’s around his age! 🙂

  7. thanks Kate! And congratulations…loved learning more about you in the facts! Meatloaf? Really? Only song I know is the “I would do anything but won’t do that” song. ha 😉

What do you think?

