My 40 Random Acts of Kindness

I found this pin the other day and it really spoke to me!

Image

The Rebel Foodie put together a list of 52 Random Acts of Kindness and helped me imagine what a difference I could make.  I’ve already started on my list, but I feel compelled to share and bring you along with me on this journey.

I spent some time on the web and gathered up some ideas and combined it with items from The Rebel Foodies list and created my own list: 40 Random Acts of Kindness.  I have a birthday coming up, and felt this was a great way to Pay It Forward and help me celebrate the time I’ve spent on Earth.  My goal is to complete these items before I turn 40; which is closer than I think!

Image

I visited the Random Acts of Kindness foundation website and found some great ideas, as such, my list is actually longer than 40 items.  In the end, I wanted to make sure I left myself open to opportunities that presented themselves.  Also, because I realized that a lot of the items on the list are things I do regularly, I needed to stretch my boundaries and give myself acts of kindness that would help me grow as a person.

I am super excited about this new chapter and Mr. T doesn’t know it yet, but he is too!

Image

I’ve created a new page for my 40 Random Acts of Kindness and I encourage you to check it out – and come back and check out what I’ve crossed off and remind me to get busy if you notice I’ve been slacking!

For your reading pleasure, I’ve also included it here!  Thank you, as always, for being part of my journey and letting me share my life with you!

(Update! I told Mr. T about this the other day “hey, here is what I’m doing and I’d like you to be part of it – we have to finish before my BD.”  He asked what was on the list and I read most of it to him… Let me tell you – T has taken off!!  He immediately picked up his phone and called half a dozen friends “I just wanted to let you know I’m thinking about you.  Nope, that’s it.  Okay, bye!”  And every where we go, he is picking up trash!  I’m just so proud of my kid right now!  I have to get busy or he’s going to put me to shame!)

  1. Hold the door open for someone
  2. Teach a child something you wish you knew at that age
  3. Tip a waitress more than you normally would
  4. Spend some time with a senior citizen
  5. Smile at a stranger
  6. Compliment a stranger
  7. Put a quarter in a meter that is about ready to expire
  8. Leave the mail person a thank you card
  9. Donate unwanted items to a homeless shelter
  10. Donate your unwanted suits to a place that caters to single moms re-entering the work force or older workers re-entering the work force.
  11. Smile at the Walmart greeter
  12. Help someone learn something new
  13. Bake someone a cake
  14. Carry someone’s bags to the car at the grocery store
  15. Walk or run for charity
  16. Thank a soldier
  17. Let someone go in front of you in line
  18. Say “thank you” to the cashier
  19. Share inspirational quotes
  20. Donate books to a school or library
  21. Give your box tops to a school ( found on General Mills products)
  22. Help someone for free
  23. Bring flowers to a co-worker, friend, or someone that may be having a hard time.
  24. Tell your family you love them.
  25. Donate coupons that have expired to a military family (they are honored at the military commissary)
  26. Buy that young mother a gallon of milk, a loaf of bread, and a jar of peanut butter.
  27. Praise a parent for their child
  28. Praise your boss
  29. Instead of asking for gifts ask your friends to do random acts of kindness on your birthday.
  30. Donate stuffed animals, coloring books, crayons, stickers, and little toys to the police station to hand out to sick, abused, or scared kids.
  31. Give someone a hug
  32. Help someone whose car is broken down
  33. Send a sunshine box to someone that is sick (put in Kleenex, their favorite cough drops, magazines, and anything that might cheer them up. Don’t forget the get well card )
  34. Hand out pennies at a wishing well or fountain. You never know whose wish you may help come true.
  35. Surprise someone with a cup cake, muffin, cookie, etc.
  36. Pre-stamp some thank you notes and hand them out, letting the recipient know to send it to someone they appreciate
  37. Hide notes in library books for someone else to find.
  38. Make or buy hats for kids that are suffering from cancer and donate them.
  39. Be a friend who listens
  40. Stick your change in the Ronald McDonald box at McDonald’s
  41. Make care packages and take them to a homeless shelter.
  42. Leave your newspaper for someone
  43. Donate blood
  44. Donate school supplies to a school or preschool
  45. Call a friend and let them know you are thinking about them
  46. Donate a $1 (when asked in line at grocery/convenience store “would you like to donate” say yes)
  47. Thank the police or fire department (drop off a case of water)
  48. Return a shopping cart for someone and save them the trip
  49. Take new parents a date night kit. (Movie rental, popcorn, 2 liter of soda, and candy.)
  50. Collect canned food for a food bank
  51. Hand out Valentine cards with lollipops on Valentine’s Day.
  52. Write a letter to someone who made a difference in your life.
  53. Pick up trash.
  54. Plant a tree
  55. Pat someone on the back
  56. Take little care packages to a Cancer center. Fill them with a travel size hand lotion, chapstick, and purse size package of antibacterial wipes. They will be much appreciated!

kindness starts with me

21 thoughts on “My 40 Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Pingback: Endings and Beginnings – WOW Motivation

    • Wow, thanks!!! That was one of the best compliments I’ve ever received! Hopefully karma will remember all my good on those times that I screw up royally! We are having fun with it – and it is so much easier than I expected. And, it forced me to get out and give blood, which I never mind doing, except it’s a hassle. (So much for good karma – saving lives is a hassle – great attitude there, huh?) 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m super excited about it!! I worked hard to find a lot of low or no cost options to show Mr. T (and everyone) that WE can change the world without a lot of money! Plus, it’s always good to give back and pay it forward!
      Sorry – told you I was excited about it!

  2. What an awesome idea! We can all change the world without an enormous outlay of cash – and your list has some things that go beyond the scope of the obvious! You have inspired me (again) to do my upcoming age (in one week) of RAK’s! I’m a few years older than you, so I have more to accomplish in just 7 days! I am looking forward to this awesome challenge for my birthday week! Thank you for inspiring people to ‘be the change’!

    • Oh, thank you! Those were lovely words! I think you can do it! And I know that there are a lot of items that you already do on a daily basis! I am sending you good energy as you complete the challenge!! And if you have on your list something about “telling someone how they inspired you” — You can totally cross that off! If not, add it real quick and then cross it off!

  3. Yeah! You wrote it and you started it 🙂
    Another blogger friend of mine did this to. One of the things she did was to take $50 in one dollar bills and spent the day giving the money away. She did stuff like leaving money for people in her office at the snack machine, gave people tips who don’t normally take tips and lots more stuff like that.
    I’m going to check out your new section and follow how everything is going.

    • That’s a great idea. I may to go back to the page and add that my goal was to show T that we could change the world w/o spending a lot of money, so I picked a lot of “free” RAK’s. But I love the idea you mentioned, so I may have to modify that! 🙂

      And thanks for your support and encouragement! It was much easier to start the list than it was to do the write up about it!

What do you think?

