Sometimes the Movie IS Better

Thanks to The Book Boozer and her Frightening Fall, I’ve been reading some classics.  She picked some books to read to get her in the mood for the spooky holiday season, (Yes, Halloween is a holiday season!) and I decided to play along with her.  I wasn’t going to read all of the same books she was; however, a couple of them sounded good so I decided it was time to hit the books!

In addition to The Book Boozer, Sleepy Hollow was going to awesomely be turned into a TV show on Fox. Score!

Since the Universe was pointing me in that direction, I hit the books!

I started with the classic The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving.  I love this book and rereading it, I wasn’t disappointed.  Even after all of these years, it was still entertaining!

Of course, I will admit, I may still prefer the Disney version!

Image

I was really excited to hear about the new TV series on Fox, Sleepy Hollow.  It was marked on my calendar and my DVR was set!  Mr. T and I sat down and watched the first episode together.  About half way through I couldn’t imagine how they would carry this series; however, the “coming soon” teaser at the end of the show put my fears to rest!  I’ve watched it again, and Mr. T and I both aren’t sure if we are in love with it yet, but I’m not giving up just yet… plus, the new Ichabod, well, he’s just yummy!

Image

Next I tackled Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.  It’s been so very long since I’ve read this book and I remember being thoroughly put off by Dr. Frankenstein.  This hasn’t changed!  Victor Frankenstein is still one of the most self-centered, arrogant and obnoxious characters to grace the pages of a book.  His narration throughout the book still drives me nuts.  He worked so hard and ended up letting go of family, friends, his studies and even his health, only to look up in horror at what he had done and turn his back on the Monster.  I still prefer the Monster who, despite everything, has a spirit that you have to admire.

Gotta say, the book drives me nuts, but you can’t go wrong with Boris Karloff’s portrayal of Frankenstein’s Monster!

Image

Here’s where I have to confess.  I will take Young Frankenstein over the original any day!  How can you go wrong with Peter Boyle dancing to Putting on the Ritz? Add in classic lines of “Walk this way” and then there is this:

It was good to revisit Dr. Frankenstein and his Monster, I’m very comfortable that I’ll never have to read that book again!

Today I finished Dracula by Brom Stoker.  My confession here is that I have never read this book before.  Somehow, it got missed.  Don’t get me wrong – I own the book – I just never picked it up and read it!  Another confession:  I didn’t pick up the book.  I found a free version and downloaded it to my Kindle.  Don’t judge.

Oh my goodness but this book is looonnnngggg.  It just drags on forever!  And it lags, oh does it lag.  For those that haven’t read the book, it is told through the diary entries of 6 different people, and overall, it is pleasant, but the few times that the book doesn’t drag don’t make up for the times it does.  I’m glad I read it and have a full understanding of the story (and again, Van Helsing is still one of the most awesome men in history, and even though he is older in the book, sometimes I pictured Huge Jackman!  The movie was campy, but oh Hugh!)

dracula

You guessed it – the movie was better!  Bela Lugosi is a genius and brought the vampire to life!  Or, at least made him UnDead.

Of course, if I have to meet a member of the UnDead in real life – I’ll take David Boreanaz, the Vampire with a soul from Buffy/Angel.

angel

17 thoughts on “Sometimes the Movie IS Better

  1. I think it’s awesome your re-read these! I love the classics and have them all…in print and on Kindle 🙂 It’s just easier to read on your Kindle! I have to agree, the movies are better and I LOVE Young Frankenstein and was really disappointed to find that you cannot buy it for Amazon Streaming 😦 Loved this post! What a fun way to get in the Holiday mood!

  2. Wow you’ve been busy! That is so funny that we both did book posts today! Great minds really do think alike 😉 I’m too much of a scaredy cat to try those…I can’t handle any spooky books. Go ahead and tease, it’s ok. Haha

  3. Reading – love it!
    I don’t think I liked the MaryShelley’s Frankenstein. I never read Dracula or Sleepy Hollow (did see a few minutes of the show but not enough to form an opinion)
    Young Frankenstein was a funny movie. I could use a laugh!

  4. This makes me so happy! I love Halloween, and I love that you love it! I haven’t made my mind up yet about the new Sleepy Hollow, they are taking some serious liberties with the story (what adaptation hasn’t?), but I think they could turn it into something interesting. And yes, oh yes, he is yummy!

    You know I am totally with you on Frankenstein. Team Frankenstein’s Monster over here!

    I also seriously envy that you finished Dracula, I just gotta get through it. The amount of unneeded description is beginning to rival high fantasy! Maybe if I watch the movie it will motivate me more 🙂

What do you think?

