January Recap

I can’t think of a catchy title for this blog… and since it will be a smorgasbord, I figured that “recap” is fine.  Okay, disclaimer over with it! Let’s get started!

One of my SMART goals this years, under “Personal Betterment” is

I welcome January 2017 in as a sharp-dressed woman, as I have made an effort to be more presentable, and accountable in my attire and stepped outside the house always dressed for success.

Honestly, I really thought this was a good idea.

And I’m not ready to abandon it yet… but…

SMART goal not met at Did That Just Happen Blog

Yeah, that happened.

This month, we celebrated my mom’s birthday with a family gathering.  Mr. T had to work, so he spent time with her and dad earlier in the day and had a pleasant lunch with his grandparents, but since I was busy, I wasn’t there and don’t have any pictures – so we’ll start with a picture I snapped of the two of them a few days prior!

Mr. T and Grammy at Did That Just Happen Blog

They were having an intense discussion! Cassius, Lee’s boxer, came over for a visit, and if you look closely, even Shorty was taking part!

It was a fun gathering, and at the end of the night, it was time to take some pictures!

Group Selfie at Did That Just Happen Blog

The best part was when Grammy wanted some pictures with her grand-kids.  This is what we posted:

Picture worth at Did That Just Happen Blog

This is the behind the scenes of what all we have to go through in order to get just a few good shots! I am sure this is something most of y’all can relate to!!

Group shot at Did That Just Happen Blog

Taking family pictures at Did That Just Happen Blog

How to take a family picture at Did That Just Happen Blog

How not to take a family picture at Did That Just Happen Blog

Notice how we were all jumping in to help.

Yeah.  Not so much.  We are more of a sit-back-and-laugh family!!

Remember that I mentioned being busy that morning so I couldn’t join Mr. T during his visit with his grandparents?

Heroes for Hope 5k at Did That Just Happen Blog

Boom! First 5k of the year done! *happy dance* Heroes for Hope run benefiting St. Jude Children’s Hospital.

BA ran with me, and after we had cooled down, grabbed some food and water, I checked, and they didn’t have a computer set up for us to check our official times, but they gave me the site I could log onto later – and then pointed me in the direction of the guy that had the print out!

I did not medal.

Well, if I’m not getting a medal, then we could go.  Not going to lie, there were 30 more minutes to go until the ceremony, and I couldn’t hang!

The next day I got on and checked the official time.

I did not medal, BUT…

I knocked 3 minutes off my race time!! 3 minutes y’all!!  It was insane!  I did start way too fast, and it came up and bit me in the butt at the 2.5ish mark, but again, I’m just amazed at the love of runners, I was struggling, and another runner came up beside me and slowed down, told me I could do it – and then stayed to run with me for a bit!  She and I kept together for a good bit, and it felt good.  I love the sense of community that has come with running, I really do!

As long as I was checking my time, I pulled up BA’s time.

And then I called him and asked “When I was checking the time sheet for me – did you happen to check it for you?  I think you medaled.”

No, he hadn’t checked the sheet, so I contacted the race coordinator, and sure enough, BA came in 3rd place in his group!  They are mailing his medal – it took several hours for it to really sink in with him, but all of the sudden, I think I can convince him to run with me again!

Is there a medal and finisher shirt  Did That Just Happen Blog

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “January Recap

  1. I am enjoying your recap! I didn’t know what to call when I started doing one too. So I totally understand what you meant.

    What an achievement on your 5k run! 3 min is a lot in running! I am getting motivated now. Except that I am doing brisk walk mostly nowadays 🙂

  2. Lots of yummy going on and insights Kete. Congrats on many levels … and especially for being true to yourself. I love the family pics 💓
    Ahh, the fond memories of dog slobber on my pants – I grew up with a boxer who did the same thing!

  3. Woo hoo! Sounds like it was a pretty great month. Those pictures of you mom with everyone climbing all over her is awesome. 🙂 Congrats again on the PR- that’s awesome! And congrats to your friend too! Those first few medals you earn are extra special. 🙂

  4. Looks like you have a fun family. Love the smiles and laughter seen in the photos. Also, congrats on shaving off 3 minutes from your time! That is quite an accomplishment!

  5. Where to begin… I love, love, love the brutal honesty that you have regarding your goals. You do not hold back when sharing and that is so admirable! I was hoping to see a picture of your outfit that day, a little disappointed that we did not. As you know, one of my goals is similar to yours regarding being presentable and fashion fabulous (as fabulous as I can be living in Kansas)…but after my big win for sassy and classy yesterday I had a big fail when I had gotten home and the youngest told me that we were out of milk, bread, and TP – so I went to the little local grocery store in my pj’s. First time in my life that has happened!
    I LOVE the picture of Mr. T with your mom and the dogs! It is so real! I’m also giving extra credit for the ‘bucks and Shorty being so typically chihuahua!
    As for the pictures of the grands on your mom, let me start off by saying, I wish I had legs like hers! WOW! Next, I cracked up to the point of snorting at the picture of the baby mauling your mom’s face in what appeared to be a fingers up the nose moment, followed by what must have been a sloppy kiss! What isn’t to love?
    As for your BIG accomplishment on running your first 5K of the year, I can only say that you are my idol when it comes to running. I have never been a runner and although I have occasional moments of delusion where I think I want to give it a try, I always talk myself down. Not only did you knock 3 minutes off your time, BA medaled, and you have managed to run a race in every month of the year so far! You’re batting 1000!
    If the next 11 months of the year are anything close to the first one, you are going to set the world on fire with your brilliance!
    ✨🏃🏻✨

    • Mom had surgery today for carpel tunnel on both hands, but I can’t wait until I can tell her to come read your comment!
      And I’m dying that after being so fashionable you went to the store in your pj’s!!! That is quite awesome in my book!! 😀
      And thanks… I haven’t been able to run almost all week cause it is so cold, but I ran this afternoon, just 2 miles, but it felt good (once it was over), and I’m trying to decide how many race fees I can afford! There are some virtual races I’ve been looking into, it still supports charities so I’m very tempted! 🙂 I never thought about one race a month, but I like the sound of that!!
      And thank you, for everything!

  6. I always really enjoy your honesty Kate. The grandkid pictures were great, but even better was your comment that you are not a “jumping in to help” but rather a “sit back and laugh” type of family. It’s always good to know people’s limitations. Congrats!!! on the first 5K of the year! There is something about already having one under your belt ( at least it would be for me). Otherwise, we can sometimes talk ourselves out of thing. You continue to INSPIRE!

    • LOL, in reviewing the pictures on my phone, all was normal… but as I was putting those on the blog post, I realized that some people might have gotten up to help when the little one started rolling all over her grandmother… but nope, I sat and took pictures of it!!
      And thanks, I’m super excited to have the first race under my belt!! I haven’t run since Monday, it’s been below freezing (and I have my limits!!) and I actually miss it!! 🙂 Happy Friday Kim!

  7. Looks like “grandma’s” birthday was lively and full of fun
    Congrats to you for knocking 3 minutes off your 5K run
    And to BA for the 3rd place medal he didn’t know he’d won

    To recap your January recap ~> Well done!

  8. Love it. Also they were playing eye of the tiger on the radio this mornign and Iw as really close to open the windows to cheer some runners haha

What do you think?