In The Kitchen with Kate: Wordless Wednesday Edition

I saw this recipe on Pinterest the other day and couldn’t wait to try it. Homemade Veggie Nuggets!

Homemade Veggie Nuggets at Did That Just Happen Blog

That looks neat, right? Vegetarian chicken nuggets! And the ingredient list really was simple: Carrots, parsnips, potato, broccoli – and then some oil, egg and breadcrumbs.

The reality:

Homemade veggie nuggets, sort of, at Did That Just Happen Blog

So, mine is a different color… I can work with that… but it was also a totally different texture… well, let’s try it anyway, so what if the cookie cutter didn’t work and I pulled out the melon baller… It could still work!

Pinterest Fail Homemade veggie nuggets at Did That Just Happen Blog

Yeah.  No.

41 thoughts on “In The Kitchen with Kate: Wordless Wednesday Edition

  1. Saving My Belly Button Ring says:

    That’s what they would look like if I had made them too, and that is with following the directions. Really bad things happen when I don’t stick to a recipe. hahaha Great job tho! I would have wanted to make those too. If you can’t pull it off, I am not even going to try!! hahaha Thanks for sharing.

  2. OMG how sad! They must have written the recipe wrong or something cause that looks like baby poo! I was super excited to try these too, haha, thanks for saving me some time ;-P

    • Oh, how I wish I was as wonderful as you just made me out to be… but I am 100% positive I did something wrong! LOL. You know me, I’m like, eh, it’s close, let’s try it! I subbed parsnips for the carrots and used a white potato instead of red… I couldn’t imagine that making a difference, but it very well might have! … yeah, I won’t be making them again! LOL
      Hey – I need a baby update, what’s up? Are they cooking along just fine? How are you feeling? Are you past the sleepy stage?

    • They tasted great! It was a good mix of veggies… but even after spending time in the freezer, they didn’t firm up… like at all. I scooped up a glob and still tried to bread it, thinking that maybe once it was in the hot oil it would hold together… nope, I had a mess in my frying skillet instead!!

  3. Holly says:

    I was like yes…awesome…oh…nooooooo.

    I laughed. I cried. I didn’t save the recipe for said nuggets. Thank you for helpnig me learn through you 🙂

    • LOL! I almost didn’t take a picture, but after I kept wishing past the wish and hoping beyond hope, I realized that it was a EPIC failure and while it tasted good, there was no way it could be eaten except with a spoon! LOL. Fortunately, I had already decided that mac ‘n cheese would make a great side dish, so I had whipped up a roux and made homemade while I was attempting to fry those “nuggets” up, so at least I didn’t starve! 🙂

What do you think?