How To: Replace a Shower Head in 12 Easy Steps

How to Replace a Shower Head in 12 Easy Steps |Did That Just Happen Blog

Hi guys, it’s time for another handy dandy tutorial based on my life and being shared to enhance yours!

1.  The day before your son leaves for a week in Florida, he should make sure you know that his shower head leaks and he flooded the bathroom.  You get bonus points if this happens on the same weekend that you are replacing a fence with your neighbor on Friday, and then have a 12 hour fundraiser for his Cheer team on Saturday, with a 5:30 am flight on Sunday.

How to replace a shower head, so you don't have a flooded bathroom! Did That Just Happen Blog

I think there should be additional bonus points if he uses Every Single Towel to clean it up.

2. Gather your supplies.  A quick trip to your favorite Big Box Store should hook you up! And fortunately, replacing a shower head is super simple! You can do this!

Gathering your supplies to replace your broken shower head | Did That Just Happen Blog

3. After removing the broken shower head, you should check the piping to make sure there isn’t anything stuck in the pipe or any obstructions.

That.  That is what they want me to stick my fingers in to make sure there aren’t any obstructions? No.  Not Happening.  That black hole of death is not eating my finger today.

I took my chances and skipped this step.  We’ll just pretend the instructions say “optional”.

4.  Practice your mantra: Righty-tighty lefty-loosey.

5.  No, your other right.

How to replace your shower head | Did That Just Happen Blog

6.  Attached the sprayer

7.  Cross your fingers. It’s okay to add in a prayer, too.

8.  Test the unit.

How to replace a shower head | Did That Just Happen Blog

9.  Declare success!!  It worked!

Ahem, I mean, of course it worked, it was so easy!

10.  Send a picture to your son that you’ve replaced his broken shower head, cause, hello, you’re a Super Mom!

Wait.

Wait.

Wait some more.

Determine that he’s never allowed to go on vacation without you again if he can’t at least answer a text!!

Move on with your life anyway.

11.  Hear a loud thump from the bathroom shower faucet.

12.  Decide it’s totally okay to pretend you didn’t hear it!

And that’s how you Replace a Shower Head in 12 Easy Steps, brought to you by Did That Just Happen Blog!

How to Replace a Shower Head in 12 Easy Steps |Did That Just Happen Blog

For the record, the loud bump was the shower caddy sliding forward off the pipe, a quick readjustment fixed that.  🙂

41 thoughts on “How To: Replace a Shower Head in 12 Easy Steps

  1. Great job, and that actually looks just like the one we recently replaced in our shower 🙂 If you didn’t have a step that included swearing, then you’ve done a project in our home, ha ha.

    • You’re welcome! 🙂 Yeah, I was in the living room and heard the thump and decided right then and there that I didn’t actually hear it and that I didn’t have to investigate until later! LOL, I was so not dealing with whatever it was!

  2. hehe I adore your sense of humour. This part was my favourite:

    “I took my chances and skipped this step. We’ll just pretend the instructions say “optional”. “

    • LOL, I am sure that will come back to haunt me eventually, because I do it so often – but really, I was NOT sticking my finger in there!! I attempted to shine my flashlight app in there and it was like a black hole, the light was just absorbed… so yeah, no. Not. Happening. Optional it is! 🙂

  3. Nice work! My parents bathroom flooded years ago. They were out of town and I was the only one in the house. It was such a mess and I used so many towels only to air dry them and use them again. They had carpet in the bathroom. I had fans going for days. On the upside I can fix a toilet now!

  4. LOL nice! I replaced the one in my son’s bath when we first moved into our house because it hardly let any water out. It’s easier than it seems if you’ve never done one before! I did flood the bathroom once though… I was sick and filled up the tub with warm water to soak, but I didn’t account for the fact that I had to actually get into the tub…. so like a dumbass I just flopped right in and SOAKED the floor. It took right at 12 towels to clean everything up. Good times. Hehe 🙂

    • Okay, you do realize you can take a towel, sop up the water – wring it out – and then re use it, right? Y’all don’t have to use every towel in the house!! LOL. That’s funny – and I’ve come close to doing the same thing – forgetting to account for putting myself in the tub 🙂

  5. I was laughing from the lead in! Oh, the towels. All of the wet, wet towels. I have never stuck MY finger in the black hole of death. I have used a screwdriver to stick in the black hole of death. I have no doubts that you can accomplish any and every thing you set your mind to. You are a super hero and a great example to all women everywhere! I bet even those women on the DIY shows have moments of “uh…really”. They just get left on the edit bay floor! See, you’re even more awesome because you share the real side of life!

    • I’m dying over here – Katherine, I don’t think it ever occurred to me to grab a screwdriver or any other implement and jab it in the black hole of death!! I turned on the flashlight on my phone and shined it up there and said “no way” and moved on! hahahahahaha. But thank you for the kind words, cause my mom will tell you, I edit nothing! Nothing! 🙂

  6. I never know with these whether I should be a) intimidated- because you are so awesome b) happy- because you are so funny or c) in awe because you are so whirlwind of activity and positivity.

    Seriously, the weekend schedule- are you kidding me? And then throw in a shower repair? Towels on the floor? And unanswered texts ? 🙂 You are super Mom!

    • Ah, shucks, thank you Kim! 🙂 It was an insanely busy weekend, but after I dropped Mr. T off at the airport, at the ungodly hour of 5 am, and then bawled my eyes out in the car because he was taking his first air plane ride by himself, I got home and went for a run… went to church, and then you should have seen all I accomplished! It is amazing how motivated I was not to sit still and think about my little boy growing up! 🙂 I can compartmentalize with the best of them – nothing like staying busy so you can avoid processing feelings. 😀

What do you think?

