I Bought a Fanny Pack

I bought a fanny pack.

I wish I could say I was joking.

I even have to admit that I don’t regret the purchase!

Let me back up a bit.

You know I’ve been on a journey to better health and recently I’ve started running.  I can’t say I love it, but I can’t say I hate it either!  It’s not easy, but I miss it on my rest days.  I found an arm band and have been using that to hold my phone, and while it’s not my favorite, I was fine with it.

Until I noticed that it is starting to rub against my workout shirts.

So I started my search.

And by that I mean, I sorted by lowest price on Amazon!

I really wanted a Flip Belt, but they don’t come in my size.

Nothing against Flip Belt, it’s just not easy at all to find fitness gear for a “plus” sized woman.  It involves a lot of measuring and guessing and then a quick prayer that it will actually fit and work!

I found a belt, it was nice and compact, and if my measurements were correct, it would span my waist.  And, it would hold my iPhone.

Fitness belt or fanny pack? Check it out on Did That Just Happen Blog

The belt looks good, right? Not obtrusive at all.  But, I still can’t figure out what the model is storing in hers.  I mean, if you are going to show a picture of the product being used, shouldn’t it actually be in use? I mean, would it be a shame to show products doing what they are supposed to, but whatevs!

Fitness belt or fanny pack? Did That Just Happen Blog

The picture shows that it holds the phone and keys… and it claims to be able to hold more – but my phone is all that really mattered, as my running shorts have a pocket for my keys, I just need to be able to have my headphones in while I’m pounding the pavement – and for the low price of $9.99, I clicked “order”.

I’ve used it twice and pretty much love it. It is an elastic band attached to the yellow banana pack, but it is able to be tightened up as the elastic stretches… or as my waist shrinks!

But every morning, when I’ve snapped this on, I’ve giggled, cause, really, it’s nothing more than an elastic fanny pack.

And I’m rocking it better than anyone!  Well, anyone except…

The Rock rocking his fanny pack on Did That Just Happen Blog

The Rock.  He is totally rocking the fanny pack.

52 thoughts on “I Bought a Fanny Pack

  1. Oh my god!!! My best friend got me one of those – of course its called a Spibelt not a fanny pack lol – but its exactly the same thing and I love it too!! Fits my phone perfectly and it has a second stretchy pocket for keys or whatever – it’s black so not as flashy as yours lol. Enjoy.

    Ps. Have to agree with you re model – what the???

  2. Love this entire story! I literally LOL’d and smiled through the whole thing! This just made my day! ps~does this mean I can get my old fanny pack out of the closet?!

  3. Dude – that is really cool! I would totally wear one of those for short hikes where I don’t need the big camelbak. It’s always my phone that gives me grief, because I want it handy for pictures. This is fantastic!

    • I’m telling ya Nancy, it is awesome! Easy to get to at the end of the run to shut down my program, and it really is unobtrusive, I haven’t noticed I’m wearing it yet! I think you’d enjoy it – and the new fabrics really make them small, they are only as big as the items you put in. Mine is the Gear Beast one, and it was only $10 on Amazon (and I saw a Groupon for it, too – same price)

  4. Haha – I thought the exact same thing when I got one of those running belts. Fanny packs are so not cool. Or are they? I was told by a teenage cousin the other day that fanny packs are totally back in style and much better than purses. REALLY? You’re never going to convince me of that. But it is so much more comfortable than the scratchy velcro on the armband so I’m using it for now.

    • I never seriously looked at the running belts before last week, I’m a big girl and nothing cool ever comes in my size, and last year it took forever to find an armband big enough… so I was pleasantly surprised that the belt I wanted (after the flip belt) would actually fit! I’m with you, I don’t think fanny packs are in – but I’m totally going to rock mine! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!! I love your cornhole boards, I’m half way through now! 🙂

  5. Good on you for running, I bet you look just as cool as the Rock 🙂

    Ps this made me, once again, imagine (and giggle) how it would have turned out if my great aunt would have visited the states. Her first name was Fanny… some names are not that practical in all countries….

  6. Ha! Firstly love the Rock joke. Secondly, yeah they got you with the picture. She must have her phone on her left hip, haha. But that’s so great that you are running! I really need to start. Do you run with your son, or by yourself?

    • I run by myself, my son has taller legs and is in better shape, so he outruns me 🙂 But, I walked for 2 years before I even thought about running, and even then tried it and gave up on it, went back to walking, but I’m finally to the point I can run and it doesn’t kill me (Most days!). But, a good power walk does just as much good for your body! I used to walk with a random old lady from the neighborhood and her power walk left me in the dust some days!!

      • Hehe, yeah I want to but I’m too scared to go by myself. I don’t know why. I guess I could always old lady watch for a week or so and see what I can come up with 😉

  7. I have one. The same one I had from the 80’s and I can’t get rid of it. My kids freak out when I wear it but I kind of think they are very handy. Especially when running right? Of course I don’t run but I can imagine. I’m with you, I’m backing you up. You are gunna bring it back…you watch and see. Dang speaking of health. It’s so HARD. why is it so HARD. I have gained 15 pounds in the last few months. what the heck??

    • It’s killer, that’s for sure. I hit a plateau … for (almost) a year. A. YEAR. I thought I was going to break down and cry Tracey. I’ve started looking at my food differently. It’s not a reward, it’s nourishment. And I want to feel nourished when I eat, my body and my soul. So, I’m vegetarian, but I had a hamburger the other day, because it nourished my soul. And I didn’t get upset or beat myself up. I tell myself that I love everything I am putting in my body and I love my body and I want to make good choices. And that day, a hamburger was a good choice.
      And some days I pin 500 smoothies to “help increase your metabolism” to Pinterest while I’m on the stationary bike! 🙂

  8. I love that picture of the Rock! He’s awesome 🙂 I have an arm band for my phone, but that’s all it holds. I got a stretchy band and wear my keys on my wrist. It gets noisy (*jingle, jingle) but I just turn my music on and tune it out!

    • I found some Danskin running capris at Walmart (and don’t get me started on how excited I was to be able to buy off the Walmart rack!) but it has a little pocket in the back waist band that fits my keys perfectly! And I didn’t like the arm band but was fine using it until I saw it was wearing through my shirts where my arm was rubbing my side… and dude, I’m still in big girl shirts, those suckers are $30 on a good day!! They were too expensive for me throw away because that velcro was eating away at them… so for me it was worth the $10 even if I hated it!! LOL!
      And, I am so in love with The Rock. His IG account cracks me up all day long!!

    • *snort* I can’t even look at those models! The other day I got a monthly publication emailed to me from one of our local hospitals that I subscribe to, it has some great fitness tips and articles… but the cover photo was a yoga class, and the were doing tree pose. Now the first thing any yoga student learns and you never stress your knee, and in tree pose your foot goes above or below your knee. You are never on your knee.
      And the picture had half of the girls on the knee… so not only did they have yoga models that had never done yoga, but it passed through several different sets of eyes and no one caught it.
      Needless to say, I unsubscribed, because it’s bad enough to use models, but to not even have someone on staff who knows enough to catch that? I couldn’t trust it!

      Yeah, that was a long way of saying “Of course you’ll look like that model as soon as you strap that fanny pack on!” 🙂

    • I’m telling ya, between the fanny pack, and the bike light that I have attached to my shoe, I’m a total fashion plate! LOL.
      I was laughing, the other day I saw a meme that said “You’re a real runner if you know how far a mile is from your house in every direction” and yeah, pretty much, no matter which path I take, I know when to start listening for the voice in my head to tell me my time! 🙂 And thanks, it’s a journey but I’m loving where my life is headed, too!

  9. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Oh, banana bag? LMAO! Sorry, just struck me as funny.

    I used to have fanny packs (as a teen!) for when we went to amusement parks. Now I can’t get on a coaster and have an old-school bag on me; this looks like it is pretty slim though so I may have to look at it now.

    • When I was buying it, it didn’t look like a fanny pack, but as soon as I heard the “click” as I snapped it on, I just giggled and giggled and giggled, it was all I could think about! But, it’s perfect, it’s tiny and unobtrusive! 🙂

What do you think?

