Daily Prompt: Re-springing Your Step

Best use of the Daily Prompt, and not just because she compared me to Bob the Builder! 🙂

Waiting on a Word

Today’s Daily Prompt from The Daily Post reads:

Tell us about the last experience you had that left you feeling fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that had such a positive effect on you?

I changed out a light switch today!

I realize that’s not exactly rocket surgery or brain science. It’s nowhere near as awesome as Kate and her Fence Repair (click here to see her adventure). Still, I probably would have paid an electrician a hundred bucks to do what took me five minutes. I did a search on YouTube for “how to change a dimmer switch,” listened and watched the nice couple demonstrate, then got to it.

I shut the electric to that area of the house, matched the wires, and voila!

I did this! I did this!

Admittedly, my husband helped me with the screws, but that was after I had connected all the wires…

View original post 222 more words

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Re-springing Your Step

  1. Congratulations — sincerely.
    Being able to do your own minor electrical & plumbing work is very important and can save you a bundle.
    The important thing is what you already did here — be certain before you start that it’s within your skill set. You don’t want to get a bunch of wires undone and then find you don’t have the correct part or have some other difficulty.
    You did this just right and deserve a bit pat on the, um, back.

  2. Obviously, I guess everyone in blogging world is upping their game. I would like to throw in that I made pleasant, entertaining conversation for 1 hour as the technician fixed the issues with my modem. Not real hands on, I know, but I watched closely.

    • Talk about upping your game, talking to them is HUGE!
      Anytime I have a technician in the house I’m always wondering how much I actually have to talk to them before they can go away!
      Okay, seriously, that thought crosses my mind about most people that come into my house….
      Yeah, I’ve sat here and thought about it, and it’s true… so the fact that you kept him company for an hour makes you the hero today!

What do you think?

