Reading and Pinterest

I’m a fast reader.  Mainly, I’m so very smart that I can grasp the concept just by skimming. (It’s not bragging if it’s true! But please keep reading anyway…)  Books that concentrate on setting the scene and telling me all about the gentle rolling hills covered in a blanket of green with patches of pink and blue wild flowers enveloped me like a quilt – well, that’s just wasted on me.  I get irritated when things are too descriptive.  While I have a vivid imagination, I don’t have the ability to create a picture based on a description.  I get a “flash” of an image, and I’m sure it’s one that I’ve seen somewhere.  I also have a very short attention span, so if you take too long to tell me about the cascade of green rolling down the mountain side chasing the stream that is rolling and bubbling and cascading by, well, you lost me at cascade of green.

Pinterest is great for me, it has pictures and short description.  It’s also pretty darn fun to pin items to boards of crafts I’ll never do, food I’ll never make and home improvements that will so never happen in my house! But… occasionally, I run across something that falls in my realm of talent. I’ve made a lot of the food I’ve found on Pinterest and added to my collection of go-to recipes.  There have been several craft projects that I’ve done, and had fun doing at the same time.

So, I skim items and Pinterest has pretty pictures.   Let’s put these two items together.

There is this recipe that has been floating around.  The blurb clearly says “in the crock pot, add chicken, taco seasoning and enchilada sauce.  Serve over rice, top with cheese, cilantro and sour cream if you want”  The picture looks so yummy!  And, I have these taco shell making bowls.  So, I dumped some chicken tenderloins in the crock pot, dumped a can of enchilada sauce over them and topped them with a package of low sodium taco seasoning.  I pictured myself letting that simmer for several hours and then I’d get the flour tortillas out and make some cute taco bowls, boil some rice, and Mr. T and I would have awesome chicken taco enchilada rice bowls for dinner.  How quick, fun and easy, right?

I came back to my computer, and this time, I clicked on the Pin and followed it through to the recipe… yeah, maybe should have done that sooner.  It’s only 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce, only a couple teaspoons of taco seasoning and they baked the dish.

I’m nothing if not adventurous.  Well, at least when it comes to some things I can say that.  I decided to just let it go. I mean, it’s chicken, enchilada sauce and taco seasoning – you really can’t go wrong with those ingredients.

Image

Here is the original picture on Pinterest. Click through to see the “real” recipe.

Fast forward a couple of hours… The chicken mix was simmering nicely.  I started some water to boil and dropped in a boil-in-the-bag.  I pulled down my taco bowl making thingamajig and pulled out my flour tortillas.  Yeah, the fajita sized flour tortillas are too small for my taco bowl making thingamajig, so I improvised and used two flour tortillas and made a half bowl.  I was amazed that Target had fresh cilantro, but they did and I grabbed it when we were there earlier!

I put my half bowl taco shell on the plate, filled the bottom with rice, topped it with a couple of chicken breast tenderloins, some shredded cheddar, sour cream (only for me, Mr. T is not a fan) and then the fresh chopped cilantro.  I highly recommend my new recipe!  It was super yummy.  Don’t let anyone tell you that you have to read the directions or instructions.  Sometimes a pretty picture is all you need!

IMG_1275

Yup, that supper did just happen! And it was pretty darn good! (Notice my cup in the back ground? Told you I love Tie-Dye!!)

I will also admit that while in the pantry pulling down the flour tortillas I saw a can of cherry pie filling, so I knew behind that was the box of angel food cake – I grabbed both of those.  I found this recipe on Pinterest; however, apparently it’s been around forever.  One box of angel food cake and a can of pie filling – be it cherry, blueberry or pineapple.  Mix together until it foams, pour into a 9×13 and bake at 350 dg for 30 minutes.  It’s a great dessert, and apparently low in calories.  I prefer the cherry pie filling, but that’s just my preference.

Apparently I was feeling pretty domestic tonight!

5 thoughts on “Reading and Pinterest

  1. I am a skim-reader like you! I read somewhere that a sign of intelligence is being able to pull out what is important and not waste energy on the rest. I don’t remember where I read it, but I swear I didn’t make it up 🙂

What do you think?

