Q&A Time

I was tagged by Mother’s Little Steps to participate in a quick Q&A – and well, I can’t say no!

Q&A

1.  When and why did you start blogging?

Peer pressure!  Several of my friends are/were bloggers and as I was reading theirs, I felt left out!  Seriously, it looked like they were having fun and I was missing out – thus Did That Just Happen Blog was born!

2. Is there any reason behind you blog’s name?

Pretty much the title of my blog sums up my life.  Wait until I tell you what happened at Walmart this weekend! They had Advent calendars out, the cheap $2 ones where you get a little piece of chocolate each day, and they had Micky, traditional Santa, and Disney Princesses.  Guess which one we have?  Go ahead, guess!  Guess which advent calendar will be gracing my counter top the entire month of December because Mr. T acted like a perfect 4 year old kid and threw probably the best tantrum in the world!

Mr. T: I want the Princesses

Me:  You don’t need the Princesses

Mr. T: I WANT the Princesses.

Me: You don’t need the Princesses, let’s get Santa

Mr. T: I WANT the PRINCESSES

Me: FINE! You can have the Princesses!!

He acted like a perfect 4 year old and I pretty much pulled of the perfect stressed and harried mom of a 4 year old that has a voice that keeps raising in pitch and volume! 🙂  We did get some strange looks – but yeah, that happened.

disney-princess-advent-calendar

3. If there’s one thing you dislike about blogging, what would it be?

The pressure to produce.  All of the articles about growing your blog, increasing your stats, and getting more views.  I love to blog; however, there are times when I see those articles (or when I read them) I start feeling pressure to grow and expand.  But, I don’t want that to be my focus.  My focus is sharing part of my world and connecting with other bloggers.  I’ve met such wonderful people and had some amazing conversations – and that is what I want to focus on – doing what I love!

4.  Have you ever thought of quitting your blog?

Totally! I think we all have at one point or another.  If I am going to blog, I want it to be genuine and sincere.  As such, I can’t have a blogging schedule – it would be too forced!

5.  Have any nasty trolls visited your blog and left comments?  Care to share them?

Now, who could leave a nasty comment on my blog?  🙂  I’m kidding – I haven’t noticed any trolls, but that is one of the benefits of a small blog, the trolls don’t notice me!

6.  Have you written any controversial blog-posts?

I have! It wasn’t really on purpose, as I’m not a very controversial person, but I did write one that stirred up some controversy and lots of discussion.  No, I won’t tell you which one it was!

7.  Have you ever experienced losing your blogging-mojo? How did you get it back?

Not as much anymore! As I’ve tried to be more organic in my blog, it’s been easier to write! There are times that I have to live my life and I fall behind on blogging, but I’ve learned to be okay with that, and my mojo comes right back!

Mojo

Thanks Dean! That was fun!

Below are the 7 I am tagging – because you have been great commentators on my blog and should be tortured rewarded!  Below are my 7 questions for you – grab them and go do a Q&A of your own!

Holly at Surviving the Madhouse

5 More Minutes Please

Nap Time Thoughts

Spirit Lights the Way

Me, Myself and Kids

My Year(s) of Sweat

40 is Like the New 30

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. If you could throw any kind of party, what would it be like and who would it be for?
  3. When you have 30 minutes of free time, how do you pass that time?
  4. At what age did you become an adult?
  5. What story does your family always tell about you?
  6. Is a picture worth a thousand words? Explain.
  7. Whasssssuuuupppppp?

33 thoughts on “Q&A Time

  1. How Leaders Manage says:

    I can’t you don’t get a lot of trolls.I guess everyone loves you. But me on the other hand…. Thank God their is an “approve” function that allows me to monitor the crazies. I don’t ever try to thump anyone’s ear with what I say. I just try to speak the truth ………. (semi-correctly).

    Kate you are doing awesome and many people blog but you are one of the ones who connect. Have a tremendous Thanksgiving.

    • Thank You, a million times, Thank You! I appreciate the kind words – and the connection is the part that I really enjoy and have worked hard to establish, so your words hit the spot – and you didn’t even have to thump me over the head! 🙂 You never do, I love the truth you speak!
      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  2. So maybe that’s what I need to do! Just leave the blog behind and hope my mojo comes back! But I’m gonna miss it and I’m gonna fret over not having new content and and and… Pfft. Now you have to tell us about the controversial post!

  3. enjoyed reading your answers. Sometimes I wonder if — in blogging — I’m just shouting into the wind. Though some of my blogs have gotten a fairly good response, but many had appeared to fall flat. Crickets chirping.
    And it does not seem (to me) to be about the content, because some of my best stuff has gotten hardly any notice. I think people are so ovewhelmed by blogs that it’s become easy to just pass over them.
    Besides, it’s mostly other authors who are reading this stuff anyhow!

    • I do think that there are so many voices out there that we can get overwhelmed and miss hearing a good one! I really hate when I know I’ve written something brilliant and the crickets show up! LOL. I’m learning not to let it bother me, or trying to 🙂

  4. Great answers . . . I agree with you about “chasing stats.” That would take all the FUN out of blogging.

    And thanks for tagging me. I’ll answer the questions “soon.”

  5. I really enjoyed your answers here. Especially about Mr T. That would have been hilarious to watch. Good for him for letting his 4 year old inner child come out. 🙂 Also, I agree with you about the pressure to produce. I’ve being going the Nano challenge for November and although it’s been fun, I’m looking forward to December when I can breathe a little more.

  6. LOVE that Mr. T. insisted on the princesses calendar! 😀

    Thank you for the tap to carry on this chain letter, my dear! Sadly, because i am already ready to blow my brains out with all the Sh..tuff going on in my world right now, I cannot commit to writing a full post in response. So, instead, I will hijack your comments section to respond to your 7 questions. 🙂

    1.Why did you start blogging? To hold myself accountable to my original 365-day challenge. 🙂
    2.If you could throw any kind of party, what would it be like and who would it be for? I would throw a spa-day spectacular and invite all my girlfriends. Champagne, strawberries, massages and pedicures! Bliss!
    3.When you have 30 minutes of free time, how do you pass that time? Free time? What’s that?
    4.At what age did you become an adult? I was an old soul at 8 or 9 years old. I think that’s why I’m mostly a silly kid now (at age 48).
    5.What story does your family always tell about you? Too many… My mom and dad like to brag about how I was potty trained at 10 months old. How that’s even possible, I don’t understand. Apparently I am an Idiot Savant around all thing potty.
    6.Is a picture worth a thousand words? Explain. Sometimes a picture tells a story better than any amount of words could. I’d come up with examples, but I’m too busy. 🙂 Picture it in your mind, if you will. 🙂
    7.Whasssssuuuupppppp? EVERYTHING. But mostly I need to find a new home ASAP. Helppppp!!!

  7. I love that you stress having an “organic” blog… I think I’m getting to that point. I want to write when I feel the desire (and have the time) instead of forcing myself and making what little free-time I do have unenjoyable.

    I might want to snuggle with my husband, eat ice cream and watch 5 recorded TV shows (that’s what I did last night) instead of getting my “scheduled” post posted!!

    Speaking of writing… I have to stop reading all of your wonderful stuff and get to it!! 😉

    • LOL! I totally agree that how you spent your night last night totally tops trying to get a post written! 🙂

      I’m very Type A and as such, if I am blogging, I want to read other bloggers and comment and get to know them – and I had to give myself permission to not comment just to comment. That it had to be sincere and genuine. And, yes, my stats will go up if I blog more often, but, I’m not blogging for my stats, I’m blogging for me. Can’t wait for your next post, though!

  8. Thanks Kate! As always, I enjoyed reading this one 🙂 Now you have to tell me what that controversial blog post was all about, no wait. I’ll look for it! 😉

What do you think?