I’m Falling Apart!

I’m not sure what I did, but when I woke up this morning my calf felt a bit “off”, but I suited up and went running anyway! Since I’m finally making progress on the Couch to 5k, I wasn’t about to let a bad nights sleep that resulted in my calf feeling a bit “off” hinder my progress!

I got home, showered and went to work. A few hours later, my calf really hurt. A little bit after that I couldn’t stand it – I had too much to do to not be able to walk. Read that sentence as “I had too much shopping to do”

enough clothes and shoes

Digging through my medicine cabinet I found 1 last heat pack. It was meant for your back or hip, but darned if it didn’t wrap nicely around my calf!

I am sure I looked quite ghetto doing all of my shopping with a massive white wrap around my leg and a slight limp!

I did it anyway!

 

Well, I did take it off for the Target run – it was coming loose and I wasn’t patient enough to re-wrap it!

I felt the affects – and put it back on to drive back home.

OH – but, guess what I saw in the stores! Yes, I know that they are starting Back-to-school early, but you’ll never believe this:

Christmas display

Christmas!!  Christmas in JULY!!!

Anyway, eventually my shopping was done and I was headed home; however, on the way home I saw a mobile blood drive. And, well, it was time for me to donate again. And it’s the right thing to do. I save three lives each time I donate! And, well, July donations got a coupon for a free pint of ice cream.

I would have donated anyway.  Most likely.  🙂

Carter mobile blood drive

So, I flipped a youie once traffic was clear and headed in. Low and behold, there was no wait! I was meant to be there!

I did all of the qualifications and took my test and got settled in the chair.

About 10 minutes later they were wrapping a bandage around my arm and moving me to a chair on the other side of the van. They could not get into my vein. They got all around it – and they knicked something because I already have a massive bruise forming – but they couldn’t stick me.

Fortunately, it only took about 4 minutes for them to figure it out on the other side and 5 minutes later they were wrapping me up and I was getting my cookies and juice.

Let’s recap:
Big white wrap on my calf.
Big blue bandage on my right arm.
Big blue bandage on my left arm.
Scabs healing on my knuckles (trampoline park was still worth it!)

Yeah… I turned 40 and it looks like I’ve fallen apart!

44 thoughts on “I’m Falling Apart!

  1. Kate, you’ve been busy! So proud of your workouts though! And Christmas stuff already? No, no, no…that’s just not right. I’m still loving summer too much. Sure would make my husband happy though.

  2. Just got back from our holiday and doing some catch-up reading with one of my favourite bloggers 😉 … Wow, hope you’re calf is feeling better now. Oh and about those Christmas decorations in July, and here I thought it only happened in the Philippines! And to think the malls there only start selling Christmas decorations once the “er” months begin – September!:)

  3. I always feel a little guilty at blood-drive time; I’m not allowed to give blood. And I’m O-negative and I know how much they need that type in the ER. But I’m always so happy to hear about other people donating so YAY, KATE!!!!

    I haven’t turned 40 yet (next year) but I know what you mean. I went to street dance on Saturday night and my knees are swollen today. Totally worth it though.

  4. This reminds me– I need to set up a time to go give blood, it’s been too long! And I’m O-Neg.
    I hope your calf is healing up, that can be so frustrating when you start getting hard core about exercise and the universe is like, “nah, INJURY!”

    • Well, it did seem like the right thing to do at the time! One of the phleblotomist’s was not as experienced, and bless her heart, she felt horrible about not being able to stick me – but I told her, it’s just really good practice for her… and she gave me an ice pack and a hot pack to take home with me!

  5. Saving My Belly Button Ring says:

    (A) hats off to you for stopping to give blood and helping others in the midst of your own adventures and (B) just hold tight and make it to the other side of 40…seriously, it gets better! hahaha For some reason, the mind tricks the body when they meet up with the big bad 4-0. hahaha

  6. It just proves what a big bad hot chic you are. Get a motorcycle. But not a crotchrocket– get a big fat harley to go with your injuries.Maybe someone will think you’ve been fighting.

    • It was! My boss called and asked if I was in the office – and I’d already been out and about for over an hour, so I was like ‘Uh, no…” and he goes “Okay, have a great weekend!”
      🙂 I figured giving blood was just a good way to pay the Universe back!

  7. Wow! You ARE falling apart. Don’t feel bad, I can relate except I try to space my injuries out! ha ha ha! I did something to my shoulder back in February and am still feeling the pain. Then a couple weeks ago I hyperextended my wrist and of course it still hurts. I gotta say, though, seeing Christmas stuff already is WRONG!

    • I can’t imagine hyperextending a wrist!! Travis hyperextended his elbow once and I didn’t think he was ever going to heal – I can’t imagine a wrist!!
      Yeah, don’t go into Hobby Lobby yet… I was surprised when I saw the fall items out – but, okay, August is coming up, that is Fall for some of the country… but then I started seeing red… literally, and as I got closer I realized it was all Christmas! My jaw hit the floor!

  8. jeff7salter says:

    I’ve wrapped those Therma-Care things around my legs before. Improvise!
    As for the rest of your day — you had my complete sympathy until the word, ‘trampoline’.

  9. Oh no hope your calf is ok Kate. I have heard about this couch to 5k app is it any good? I wonder if your runners need more support and that’s what’s causing the calf pain. I must admit I am a little sore after Thursday running but up near my hamstrings. Sending you virtual hugs to make you feel better. Xx

  10. You are such a good hearted person giving blood and all!! The santa claus in July is FREAKING me out and I sure hope your injury heals quick. I tried the C-2-5 and by week three I think my hip started really, really hurting, so I quit. blah. I’m falling apart too over here. Much love to you and happy weekend.

    • Tracie, I kid you not, there were 5 FULL aisles of product and another 5 not full yet but on the way. School hasn’t even started yet!
      I made it (eventually) to like week 7 or 8 when I was doing it on the elliptical, inside in the A/C. The first time I tried to do it for real and outside I failed miserably… but I’m feeling really good about it right now. We’ve already ruled out yoga for me – I’d like to find something I can do! 🙂 So far, running is working out!
      Sending lots of love right back to you! Have a great weekend!

What do you think?