We Can’t Hunt Moose

Me: I’m just so over everything. Let’s move.
T: Move where?
Me: Jamaica.
T: No
Me: Well, where do you want to move to?
T: Alaska
Me: Alaska is boring. There is nothing to do.
T: We can hunt moose
Me: I think they are a protected species, we can’t hunt moose.
T: Did I say we were doing it legally?!?

Yup, that’s my kid!

Kate and T Senior Night 2

I finally got the picture back from Senior Night, when I got the privilege of walking Mr. T across the field.  It was pretty awesome!

You will never have this day with your children again.  Tomorrow, they’ll be a little older than they were today.  This day is a gift.  Breath and notice.  Smell and touch them; study their faces and little feet and pay attention.  Relish the charms of the present.  Enjoy today, mama.  It will be over before you know.  -Jen Hatmaker.

 

39 thoughts on “We Can’t Hunt Moose

  1. I agree with T. You should move to Alaska. It’s beautiful there! My favorite place of all time. I’d move there in a heart beat, if I could talk my family into it. 🙂 A person would have to be the outdoor type to enjoy it though. Oh and that picture is frame worthy. Very nice!

  2. You can move to Finland, befriend someone with land and join their hunting team and then hunt the moose quite legally here. Simple. We may even help you out with connecting with the right people… 🙂

      • You won’t find much drafty old castles for sale here in England, but there are loads in Scotland! 😉 However if you’ll settle for 400 year old quirky cottages, I’m sure we’ll be able to find one for you here. In fact, I know of one not far from our little village! 😀😀😀

      • Oh god! Drama indeed… With the way things are moving (or not), chances are, if you do come, we’ll still be in the market and yes, you’re welcome to it! xx

  3. Anonymous says:

    Alaska isn’t boring…. if you know what to do. Don’t ask me, I haven’t figured it out yet but believe me, people find all sorts of things to do here!
    Moose aren’t protected, so yeah, you can hunt them (in season) 🙂 Jamaica might be fun for a couple weeks but then what? It’s kind of like Alaska; you can’t just get in your car and take a three-day-weekend road trip to Yellowstone or Maine (haha) or somewhere!

  4. Thank you for making me laugh! Thank you for bringing tears to my eyes. Thank you for reminding me to take each day (I’ve been doing this so much more) as it comes and live it as fully as possible!

    • Thank you for this awesome comment!! I’m doing my best to stay in the now, which actually, has really staved off any anxiety I might feel over him leaving for college. Right now, it’s all okay, so I don’t have to worry… and that has been pretty amazing!

What do you think?