How Many Times Can You Hit Refresh?

You know what is my favorite key on the computer?

computer_key_F5

This guy is amazing.  He is my refresh key.  And as of Friday night, he is my friend!

Let me back up.

Last year, the most awesome kid in the world became the very first Mascot of the new High School.

Mr. T mascot

And, he rocked it!

Not that I’m biased or anything!

Mr. T also ended up joining the competition cheer team – even though he’s never cheered or stunted a day in his life.

We are the champions

He did great! He made major improvements and, he found a passion.

This kid has loved being a cheerleader.

It has been so neat to watch him grow and change along this journey.  To see him realize that seemingly small decisions can have long reaching consequences and making changes in his life so that he can follow his passion has been amazing for me as his mother.

He decided over the summer that he wasn’t going to tryout to be the Mascot for his senior year.

He was going to try out for the Varsity Cheer Squad.

And this kid worked for it.

Friday after school they had tryouts.

Now, the girls all try out, and then the judges review the scores.  The judges leave and after they’ve left the property the girls are then released to go home and the Coach goes to her office to post the results on line.

All of the girls went home and sat by their phone/computer/ipad and they kept hitting refresh.

Except Mr. T.

Mr. T walked across campus because he had a theater UIL performance to give!

Which meant, I was home all alone, not knowing when cheer got out, not knowing when I should start checking for the results… and hitting F5 every 2 minutes!!

I started seeing pictures on Facebook of other cheer moms posting their daughters staring intently at their phones… so I started hitting F5 every 1 minute!

Oh look – there is a new page set up!  Click on that.

F5

F5

F5

Oh, the page now had headers!

F5

F5

F5

And then the moment I had been waiting for, and wearing out the F5 button on my computer for, had finally arrived…

Mr T varsity cheer list

My heart was overflowing with love and pride – and I grabbed my phone and texted Mr. T so he’d see it as soon as he was out of theatre, and then my friends and family that had been waiting – probably not on as many pins and needles as me, but waiting nonetheless!

When he got home that night, he was so pleased and in his own understated way mentioned how happy he was, and how glad he was that his hard work had paid off!  He mentioned that he really felt he worked hard and practiced hard, and it was nice to make the team as a reward for all of that effort.

Me? I was doing my own cartwheels!

In my head at least!

So, yeah, that happened.  I’m still a #CheerMom and will be sharing plenty #CheerIsLife posts during his Senior year! 🙂

Aren’t y’all lucky!

39 thoughts on “How Many Times Can You Hit Refresh?

  1. Congratulations to Travis! He seems to be very involved in pursuing his interests and passions, and not afraid to be in front a group, which is great.

  2. As a former #CheerMom, let me admit that I have tears streaming down my face right now! I am over the moon with joy for Mr. T’s reward for all of the hard work he has put in! I did a few cartwheels in my home head (and my stomach) on his behalf!
    Also, I love this version of “refresh”! It is refreshing in its own right!

  3. Oh this is so exciting and such a good example of how hard work can pay off. He will use this as a foundation for so much in his life. Brilliant. Congrats to Mr T (love his name by the way – Travis) and you as the proud mummy. x

  4. Give me a T!
    Give me an R!
    Give me an A!
    Give me a V!
    Give me an I!
    Give me an S!

    What have you got???
    Mr. T
    Kicking ass and taking names!

    Go team!

What do you think?

