In the Kitchen with Kate: Healthy Wendy’s Copycat Frosty

  
Really? That seems deceptively simple. But I had all of the ingredients on hand… And I had just finished 30 minutes on the stationary bike… So yes please!! 

  
I gathered my ingredients. 

And I blended. 

And blended. 

And shook the cup and blended some more. 

The mixture was really thick so I added another 1/4 cup+ of Almond milk. 

(The “+” is because I had just over a 1/4 cup left and went a head and finished off the carton! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚) 

I blended some more. 

Taste test time! 

Ok, still really think and oh my goodness was that a chocolate overload! 

And not in a good way! 

And I’m out of almond milk, so I add some water. And then a scoop of vanilla protein powder. My thinking was that the vanilla would help off-set the bitter chocolate (cause 1/3 a banana wasn’t near enough sweetener!!) and to help keep the shake thicker after I added water… 

  
It worked!! So while the recipe wasn’t all that spot-on for me, with a few modifications I made it work! By the time I modified it, the caloric count was 234, which isn’t bad considering I had a scoop of protein in there! It was simple enough I’ll be making this me again! 

Oh, and well, I wouldn’t ever mistake it for a Wendy’s Frosty, it was really tasty, and 160 calories less (it would have been 260 calories less, but again, protein powder!!) 

39 thoughts on “In the Kitchen with Kate: Healthy Wendy’s Copycat Frosty

  1. I was so glad to read above that you hadn’t been blogging because I was about to apologize for not being around in the past couple of months. My life is absolute craziness right now. When I have “down time”, like while I’m on a plane, I’d love to get caught up on blog reading, but then I’m without internet. No win. Anyway – I’m thinking I may have to write up an “it’s a wrap” post for my blog so that bloggy friends who I don’t have connected on other platforms know I’m still alive and haven’t just vanished.

  2. Haha, I love your notes. I’ve seen that before around and wondered if it tasted like they said. I never really had the incentive to make it though as the only ingredients I have on hand are vanilla and ice cubes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. YOu continue to open up the world to me, Kate. First, instagram, now Snack Hacks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I must say, I always admire your “never say die’ spirit in the kitchen. Whatever the initial outcome, you continue to work with it to make it work ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Did you use raw cacao rather than cocoa? That would have made it a much stronger chocolate flavour (but it would also mean it is healthier so I think it is is win!). My morning smoothie is quite similar and I love it: 1 cup dairy free milk (I use coconut but you can use almond or whatever), half a frozen banana, a handful of frozen raspberries (I just free pour), a shake of chia seeds (again I just free pour), 1 tablespoon of raw CACAO (the stronger one so that’s why you only need 1tbsp). BLEND BLEND BLEND. And there you have a really delicious choc berry smoothies. Woooooop.

What do you think?

