In The Kitchen with Kate: Healthy Banana Ice Cream

Happy Hump Day! Or whatever day it is when you are reading this!

It’s been a rough week. Like way rough. I was talking to my dad and telling him about it and he goes “you’ve had to pull out the $10 words this week!”

I’ve said things like

“if I had known then I could have allocated resources differently”

and

“returning your call to discuss the viability of the suggested value engineering”.

Oh, and the ever popular

“I think we need to work on our communication skills”

In fact, I was talking to my dad because Mr. T surprised me by letting me know yesterday that he was going to stay at Grammy and Papa’s the rest of the week to house sit.

I wasn’t aware both of my parents were going to be out of town! They thought Mr. T told me and Mr. T thought they told me.

In the meantime I was just sitting over here in the dark!

All alone.

Alone in the dark.

Well, not the dark, I do have the lamp turned on!

But you get the point!

So, what’s a mom to do when she discovers that she has a night all to herself?

She decides it’s time to make healthy frozen chocolate banana ice cream!

Here you go:

Get out your food processor.

2 frozen bananas.

Now, you can also add in flavors. Like a scoop of peanut butter. Or some cocoa powder for chocolate! 

 

Put bananas in the food processor and hit start.

That’s pretty much it! I happen to almost always have frozen bananas on hand because apparently it is beyond our ability to eat the last banana! So I always just pop it in a baggie and put it in the freezer… And it paid off tonight!

Blend until smooth and then add in your flavoring!

Scoop out and enjoy 🙂

It’s approximately 200 calories for that bowlful,  and  it is so yummy!

37 thoughts on “In The Kitchen with Kate: Healthy Banana Ice Cream

  1. I’ve heard of this magic ice-cream made by blending frozen bananas before but I’ve never tried it, I’m even more tempted now by your suggested additions, particularly the peanut butter – I’m not a big fan of chocolate ice-cream, but peanut butter and banana ice cream, yes!

  2. I rarely have leftover bananas… So I’d need to be intentional about saving bananas for this…. Hah the opposite problem. Thanks for sharing Kate. I hope life gets back to normal soon.

    • Me either!! I rearranged my fridge a bit yesterday and discovered I had about a dozen bananas frozen! Some were in a (3) pack, for bread, some where sliced for smoothies and some where just by themselves! LOL

      Sending you GOOD HEALING energy!!!

    • It was so easy Donna! And it was good, since I, too, love bananas, I love the flavor, and the texture was great! I was worried about the texture, but it was very much a soft serve texture! I can’t wait to try it with peanut butter! 🙂

  3. I love the whole frozen fruit ice cream thing. I do berry ones too (using a whipping function on my Thermomix – hard to explain what it is. They don’t have it in the states but it is amazing!).

  4. I always get so excited when I see a “In the Kitchen with Kate” posting. I have to say, this seems very, very do-able. I had to laugh at your “vocabulary” choices for the week and the fact NO ONE informed you about the house sitting arrangement. I have so been there, Kate. Happy to adjust to anything, if someone could just let me know what is going on! 🙂 enjoy your night.

  5. Now I have the solution to not throwing out bananas! We buy them (usually about 5) when they’re green. I have a very difficult time with the texture of bananas so if I do eat one, I have to slice it into pieces. It also can’t be too ripe or I won’t eat it (too mushy). Inevitably, there are usually 2 sometimes 3 over ripe bananas that sadly get tossed. Good idea for freezing and using later for a treat. 🙂

What do you think?

