Letter to Your Teenage Self

My sister sent a group text:

If you could write a letter to your teenage self and only use 5 words – what would you say?

Mr. T answered almost right away “Boy you are cra cra”

My dad responded with “Evaluate Actions support Values Daily”

By now I had my response prepared “Their opinion does not matter”

Then my niece chimed in “Be yourself all the time”

And my sister, who started it all finished it with “You’re stronger than these trials”.

It was an exercise surprisingly more fun than I expected! And I loved reading the responses from the rest of the family!

🙂

In other news, I have my great grand-parents antique high boy dresser (I forgot to take a picture before I started sanding!).

IMG_6103
This lived in their garage, so it’s not in good shape. But it’s got great character!

IMG_6104
And I’m sure it was my sister that graffitied the inside!

IMG_6147

The dresser is all sanded down and my original plan was to stain and seal it, since it’s missing one knob, I can’t restore it and since it is just going to live in my guest room, it doesn’t have to be a show piece.

IMG_6148
Come to find out, it’s good news that I can’t restore it, and that it doesn’t need to be a show piece because when I sanded down the top I discovered an oil stain… Not stain so much as an oil slick! I sanded off the stain and varnish; however, the oil did seep into the wood and now I’m afraid it won’t take a stain properly.

Which means, I’m turning to y’all for help! Do I attempt to stain it? Do I break a cardinal rule and paint it? Do I paint it AND possibly go get an old gigantic map and mod podge the map on the drawers?!?

IMG_6154

IMG_6155
What do y’all think? I’m taking any and all suggestions!

63 thoughts on “Letter to Your Teenage Self

  1. Pingback: Restoring my Great Grandparents Highboy Dresser | Did That Just Happen Blog

  2. I loved the group text! I would tell myself “keep doing it your way”! And I love that dresser! I love the mod podge ideas since it sounds as though it isn’t in the best of shape anyway. It will be stunning no matter what, I think. Thanks for commenting on my St. Patty’s Day blog post. Nice to meet you!

  3. beautiful dresser — I like the wood grain showing. I’d put a light stain and just chalk up that oil discoloration to “character”.
    As to the other matter: words of advice to my teenaged self:
    “slow down. be kinder.”

  4. Dude, you are entirely awesome.
    You know what I’d do with something like that?
    Squat. I’d make all these plans for it, and then it’d sit in MY garage until MY grandkids came along and sanded it down and did something with it.
    Sad, I know. I offer only the truth. I love what you did with it.

    • LOL, I can do projects in bursts! You don’t want to know how long it has sat in my garage before I touched it!! BUT, part of my excuse was that I needed to sell an antique dresser I had in my guest room in order to make room for this one… and I will stand by that excuse for the entire 3 months it sat in my garage! LOL

  5. oh gosh, Kate. I have no ability with home improvement projects. You lost me with your rather cavalier- “I sanded the whole thing” comment. – as if that were no big deal. As I read the blog, I was hoping the call you put forth would be for us to submit our 5 word phrases. Now, that I can do. “Love and prayer handle everything.”- even home improvement projects- does that help ? 🙂

  6. That’s a beauty! 🙂 Sadly, I’m crap at DIY, but doesn’t stop me from doing it. At the moment, I’m so in love with white. If that were mine, I’d paint it all white 😉

  7. I love that idea Kate about the 5 word letter to teenage self!! The dresser is gorgeous too and I’m sure it will be a real statement piece once it’s finished, good luck 😊😊😊😊

  8. My first thought was “There’ll be time for party AND school”, lucky I can’t count 😉
    I’ve never done up an old piece of furniture but I do like the idea of maps on it!

      • Tell me about it. I am still in the phase were I am supposed to be getting rid of things but since we decided we’ll get mainly new furniture to our new home (doesn’t have to be new new but designed to fit the fairly different layout and smaller living area), I can’t help but sneak into pages with great ideas for interior design and beautiful furniture…

  9. Great answers from all of you. I’d say: “Don’t Buy So Much Stuff.”

    As for the dresser, I love wood but that map chest of drawers is pretty cool looking. Have fun deciding which way to go with it.

  10. do it! my husband and his older brother shared an old dresser as little boys that made it to our home a couple years ago (my mother in law left it on her carport for years, it desperately needed love). I ended up sanding, PAINTING, and taking several different wallpaper prints to the drawers. plus replacing knobs and such. it came out beautifully and now sits in our daughters room! the only thing I stained was the top of it.

What do you think?

