In the Kitchen with Kate: Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

Alternate title: How Pinterest Saved my Life

Other Alternate Title: How I’m filling my time now that my son is really growing up and developing a life of his own and I’m not use to not being a taxi, I’m not sure what to do with myself and all of this free time I’ve developed and I’m darn sure not trying on-line dating again!!

Take your pick, but any of those titles would work for today’s post – I only selected to make this an In The Kitchen with Kate segment because then I could legitimately use this picture and show you what really happens in the kitchen with me:

Anatomy of my kitchen

Saturday morning I had finished my coffee and the news was over and I started flipping through the TV channels.

I don’t want to be a “flip through the TV channels because the house is so quite” type of person so I shut off the TV.

And sat there for a bit wondering what to do!

Then, my computer called me, it lovingly beckoned me, it all but commanded that I open it up… Pinterest was the lure and I was ripe for taking the bait!

But, I was smarter than the not-so-inanimate-object also known as my computer!

Side note:  Not related to the New Year, not a resolution at all, but Mr. T and I are moving towards becoming vegetarian.  So far, I’m loving it! But anyone who has tried to go out to eat with me won’t be surprised by this at all!

Mr. T was still asleep, having worked late the night before, and lunch was not too many hours away, so I was going to open Pinterest, but NOT get sucked in and actually create something!

I create things based on inspiration on Pinterest all of the time!  I really do agree, there needs to be a button to check “I did this!” each time we actually try something that we’ve pinned – and if it could applaud me and toss some confetti, well, I’d be fine with that, too!

I needed lunch, I wanted a treat, I baked a spaghetti squash the other day that I hadn’t turned into a meal yet and I have discovered that quinoa cooks up like 4x in volume!!

Let’s start with lunch.  I took shrimp stir-fry inspiration and made a vegetarian option.  I buy a lot of veggies, and at any given time will have chopped onion, celery, carrots and bell peppers in baggies in my freezer – so I just pulled out everything that looked good and sauteed it all together in some sesame oil. I had some Thai noodles, and I made a Korean soy sauce topper.  It was awesome.  I subbed quinoa for the shrimp for protein and I reduced the number of noodles and added in some spaghetti squash.

Vegetarian stir fry

Vegetarian Stir-Fry.  It was Instagram worthy!

While that was coming together, I found Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Mini Blender Muffins.  Please click through and visit Averie Cooks, I don’t know her, but she deserves a visit! My friend Erica had mentioned some cookies she made the other day that were flourless, so this recipe was calling my name.

Magic Bullet blender

These muffins really are made in a blender! The recipe says it makes 17 mini muffins, and looking at it in my blender, it sure didn’t look like it would make that many, but it really did!  And yes, I know that eventually I’ll need a grown up blender.  I had one, but someone in my life had a greater need for it, and no joke, the Magic Bullet has worked great so far!

Flourless peanut butter chocolate chip mini blender muffinsTalk about Instagram worthy!!!

But wait – there’s more!

While those were baking, I went ahead and put together a spinach and spaghetti squash recipe, I haven’t eaten it yet – it’s in the freezer right now, but it’s a cheese rue with the squash and spinach, and you can’t go wrong with any of those ingredients!  Mr. T claims he doesn’t like spaghetti squash, so I think this meal will be the real test!

But wait – there’s more!

Pinterest had me collecting free printables, and this weekend I finally had several that really spoke to me, plus, I have ordered a piece of art from Crated, created by fellow blogger Life in the Wylde West, and I can’t wait to get that put up, but I didn’t want it looking lonely!

Now it’s Sunday night and the Cowboys won!!!  Yeah! Go #CowboysNation!!! That’s how you #FinishTheFight!!

Sorry, that just kinda came out of nowhere!

A quick trip to Target, a stop to visit Mr. T at work and I was back by the start of Downton Abby!

wall art

I have my pieces printed on matte photo paper, my little trimmer and the frames; I went to work and at the end of the hour, I turned my stack into the start of a collection!

wall art collection

The blank frame at the top is for the art piece I’m waiting on, but everything else got trimmed and framed!  Now it’ll take me days and a call to my grandmother to help me arrange them on the wall!

But, that’s okay, because Mr. T works again Thursday night, so I’ll have time to spare!

So, I utilized Pinterest to the fullest this weekend, and it really helped me fill up my spare time.  I think I can handle Mr. T growing up after all!

52 thoughts on “In the Kitchen with Kate: Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: In The Kitchen with Kate: Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies | Did That Just Happen Blog

  2. Awesome work Kate! How did the recipes turn out? Tim doesn’t like spaghetti squash either but if I could find a recipe that is really good, I’d try it again. I also love the framed pictures. I recently made a small workout room out of the room we didn’t know what to do with and I’ve thought about putting up inspiring images and words, this is a great idea you did! I love your enthusiasm for new projects!!

    • The spaghetti squash is in the freezer waiting for next week, i promise to report back!

      And you should totally put up inspirational art and motivational sayings! Dollar store frames are the best for this if you aren’t sure, that way you are out less than $10!

      What is your word for the year? I don’t recall you sharing, but I know you have been thinking about new chapters, so it is time to decorate the cover! 🙂

  3. Wow sweetie, you’ve been busy! I really like your idea about the button on Pinterest, although I might not want to own up to some of my attempts!

  4. I have a looooong list of things that I will start doing (again) when I am not so needed at home. One is to STOP COOKING! 😀 I suppose that is, base don Mr T’s age only about 12-13 years from now…

    But good on you for getting so many things done!

  5. There’s just so much here that I don’t know where to start. I like the peanut butter chocolate chip muffin idea. My husband would love those. Online dating can be scary. Just ask my brother…eek. Go Cowboys! They’re my favorite team. I too have been thinking about going vegetarian, but I think my family would disown me.

  6. Wow! Look at your go. This is what I’ll get to do once my children all grow up…in about 20 years! lol How I envy you and all that free time!!! Keep sharing. I love the inspiration.

    • LOL, it’s weird making the transition – I said the other day that I’m not sure what to do with all of this free time that I suddenly have! But, I think it’s good that it is coming in stages, cause I would probably lose my mind if it happened all at once! It’s good that I’ve taught him how to be independent and am giving him the separation he needs. Not easy, but good! 🙂

  7. Oh my, you certainly are on the roll! I refuse to be sucked in with Pinterest. I’m seldom over there. I can’t. I just can’t have another obsession! If I allow myself in, nothing will ever be done in this house! Yep, my will power isn’t as strong as yours 😉 x

  8. OK, now guess what I want, those muffins…I think I’ll wait to my mouth unfreezes (dentist) though. 😉
    Kate, I’m tired just reading this, but now also hungry. Thanks. You go! 🙂

  9. Go you1 I love creating in the kitchen ~ edible art. Your stir fry and your muffins look FAB! And the Art Project is a winner.

    When I’m trying to decide how to hang photos, I play around with layouts on the bed until the arrangement suits me. Have fun.

  10. WHAT! that was YOU! I get notices when people buy things. Well, I don’t sell much, you are my 4th customer. LOL but anyways, I’m so thankful. Thank you friend so much. And I saw your muffins on IG, they look so good. You know I’m gunna try them. My oldest son is a veggie guy, he didn’t cut meat entirely, he still eats fish. He can’t give up his sushi so I’m excited to follow you in your new meatless way of cooking, to get ideas and stuff. I love the print outs you found, so inspirational. thank you again so much for ordering a print. I’m grateful.

    • The print I got is a picture I’ve loved for a long time (I even pinned the original) but when I saw that a verse had been added to it, I knew it had to be mine! And you are welcome my friend! It was my pleasure!

      And yes, there will be times that I will eat meat, I’m not going crazy, but really, reducing our meat consumption is great for our bodies, but even better for the environment! Do you know the carbon emissions associated with transporting cattle and pigs? Okay, don’t let me get started! Needless to say that I’m happy to pass along all of the meatless meals that I find we like! 🙂

    • I thought I was going to lose my mind! In fact, several of my tweets were not lady like at all – along the lines of wondering if the entire defensive line suffered head injuries during the past week! but, we pulled it through and I’ll take a win, no matter how messy!!

    • Hahahahahaha! First off, you wave your successful 5 ingredient lemon chicken recipe all over the place! My manic weekend doesn’t detract from that at all!! My favorite cookbook when Mr. T was little was on my parents had the “4 ingredients or less”, I have a dozen index cards with recipes from there that are awesome!

      I love small list of ingredients!

      And if you do, too, then the muffins are ones you should try, they are seriously so much easier than expected! The kids’ll love ’em!

What do you think?

