Texas Homecoming

I grew up in Texas, except for my middle and high school years, which were spent in Nevada.

So, I missed out on the whole Texas Friday Night Lights and Homecoming.

And yes, I meant to capitalize those words, because they are that big down here.

We just had Up and Coming. Β Which is what happens when you’ve never had a graduating class in your high school, because until you have a graduating class you can’t have a Homecoming.

But that doesn’t stop us!

homecoming mum 1Senior mums can be school colors or gold and white – but they usually are over the top.

homecoming mum

But this is Texas, how do you know what is over the top?

homecoming mum

And sometimes we do forgo school colors.

homecoming mum

We almost always have animals showcased.

homecoming mum

And giraffes apparently are not over the top.

homecoming mum

And they aren’t just for the ladies!

homecoming mum

Can you see his, it’s camo!

homecoming mumAnd sometimes you just have to go for it!

And the owner of that massive mum? He was Homecoming King. πŸ™‚

37 thoughts on “Texas Homecoming

  1. Pingback: Did That Just Happen Blog

    • The Homecoming Mum used to be a beautiful mum that the boys bought for their girls – and here in Texas it has morphed into a massive collection of flowers and teddy bears and ribbons! Boys give them to their homecoming date (and homecoming is the one football game a year that we host to welcome back the students that have already graduated)

      And the garters were new to me! We didn’t have them like that when I was in High school, but again, it’s a way for girls to show affection to their boyfriends.

      And it’s a good way to show off πŸ™‚

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like that before!! We don’t do homecoming here at the high school level. Only universities do homecoming. Apparently I was robbed of a huge teenage rite of passage.

  3. I can’t remember where I read / heard / learned about the Texas obsession with the Mums…but I have since been fascinated and I must admit just a teensy bit jealous! They are simply Fabulous! It is a fantabulous tradition!

  4. We moved here from the Midwest, where a Homecoming mum is just that – A mum, ONE! But last year, my son was a Freshman and I got to make my first TEXAS Homecoming mum. It was an adventure! I got tips from a cute Senior girl from his school at Michael’s in the ginormous mum section. She was a Godsend! And YouTube. And Pinterest. I was quite proud of it. I told him this year to go stag or find a date with less letters in her name!!!

    • LOL! That’s too funny!! You are more brave than I! I haven’t even attempted to make one! πŸ™‚ We have a family friend that makes them for a couple of the local schools, and I told Mr. T “she’ll have left over ribbons and decorations, she can make it cheaper than I can”. But his date made his garter, and bless her heart, it was HUGE! She made two trips to the specialty “homecoming store”, I didn’t even know there was such a place!

    • Yes, we save the corsage for the dances, and those are real flowers that are pinned on the dress or worn on the wrist and are usually very tasteful and discreet, like the rest of the world – but for school the day before Homecoming – it’s all about bigger is better! But, I’ll admit this is the first year I was on campus that day and even I was blown away by how over-the-top most of them were!

  5. So alien … so different … cannot even conceive what this might be like … along with proms and prom dresses and cheerleaders! There a lot of color, spotlights and glitter though πŸ˜‰
    Val x

    • I knew there would be several people to whom this was commonplace – and then I knew there would be even more that didn’t have these traditions! And, I couldn’t show you any of the pictures of the ones that lit up! The lights didn’t come across right on the camera! But yes, glitter abounds! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

