In The Kitchen with Kate: Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

Can I just say that I love my name in the title? It’s a special kind of tingle to see that.  Makes me feel important.

But enough about me!

Today let’s discuss cauliflower.

cauliflower

I hate Cauliflower.  It’s a weird, white tree that doesn’t have much flavor and really does have a weird texture.  I just can’t eat it plain. Now, I can turn it into mashed potatoes!  Steam and mash and then dump in almost an entire bar of cream cheese and it becomes edible!

Not the most healthy for us, though.

Then Pinterest saved me.  As usual.

Alfredo Sauce.  Low Fat Alfredo Sauce.

I had to try it!

I’ve made it a couple of times, and here is what I do:

  1. Boil a head of cauliflower in half water half veggie (or chicken) broth. Or just water.  That works, too.
  2. While that is boiling, saute about an entire head of garlic with a tablespoon or two of butter. Seriously, you need like 5-10 cloves depending on the size of your cauliflower.  I just do an entire head.
  3. Then, after the cauliflower is nice and mushy, using a slotted spoon or strainer, take it out of the water and put it in a food processor or blender, add about 1/2 cup of milk, just enough to help it process, and blend.  And pulverize.  And then pulse, pulse, pulse.
  4. Okay, not really, I just like the pulse button!
  5. I don’t own a food processor.  That may be why I like to Pulse, because I can’t do it at home!
  6. Once you have created a creamy mixture, pour the cauliflower into the skillet with the sauteed garlic and blend well, add salt and lots of pepper and heat through.
  7. Add to your favorite pasta and enjoy!

Last week, this was the result:

cauliflower alfredo sauceCauliflower alfredo sauce with bow-tie pasta and sauteed shrimp, and a side of grilled squash.  Here is what makes it all worth it.  There are about 220 calories in 1/2 cup of store bought alfredo sauce.  Mine has approximately 50 calories.

Seriously.

But, it gets better!

The night I made the alfredo sauce, I reserved half of cup of the sauce for future use.

spinach alfredo pizza 2

More homemade pizza!!!  Using my homemade pizza dough recipe, I rolled out the crust and then used the reserved portion of alfredo sauce and spread it over my crust.  Which you can barely see in the picture, but it’s there – trust me!

spinach alfredo pizza 1

Hello mozzarella cheese! Again, you can’t see it clearly, because making a “white” pizza doesn’t photograph very well! And no, there isn’t a lot of cheese, this was just a base, something for the spinach to adhere to.

And either I lost photos from my phone or I got distracted at this point.

I’m betting on the fact that I got distracted because oh look, something shiny!

But, next steps are to top with a ton of fresh spinach and then load up the mozzarella and parmesan cheese and then bake, 450 for about 15 minutes.

01868d98a580a1806cf017688b62392acfaa130d06And then feast!

And if you look closely, you can see a 2nd piece of pizza hiding in the bottom left corner.  I think I was trying to take a picture so that I didn’t look like a pig with two pieces of pizza on my plate!  Who am I kidding though, right? You have to have at least 2 – this stuff was awesome!

There you have it – another addition of Kate in the Kitchen!  I love the cauliflower alfredo sauce, and loved even more being able to reserve some of the sauce for a 2nd meal!

What about you guys? Any 2nd meals you like to make?  Anyone with me about how weird cauliflower is? 🙂

29 thoughts on “In The Kitchen with Kate: Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

  1. I just realized that I haven’t been receiving your posts in my feed . . . and here you are feeding people via yummy recipes.

    If you have never tried roasted cauliflower, you might like it. I love all veggies but cauliflower is a bit bland on its own. But roasted with olive oil, salt, and pepper, it carmelizes and becomes yummy bits.

    But I’m going to give your recipe a go too. Sounds perfect!

  2. I will be trying this tomorrow!!! Sounds amazing. Thanks so much for posting! Another great cauliflower use is as a substitute for mashed potatoes (or you can do half potatoes, half cauliflower). Cauliflower isn’t as starchy, so the end result is not as thick, but it’s amazing. I actually prefer it to mashed ‘taters (and that’s saying something). I don’t actually use a recipe, but steam the cauliflower, then blend with garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper and a little cream. MMMMM! 🙂 If you want a recipe, here’s one from food network: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.foodnetwork.com%2Frecipes%2Fmock-garlic-mashed-potatoes-recipe.html&ei=8OkDVISSMJazggSbkoHYCg&usg=AFQjCNE6AkPzxKoj0INua2W7TP2cMht4wQ&sig2=XI6-KsnDG58axF7eFbp5rg&bvm=bv.74115972,d.b2U

  3. That’s so funny you say that, because I hate cauliflower too! But it’s all the rage now. I feel like it’s everywhere. Even my friends eat it in all different ways and forms. Now I see this, I can hide from it any longer. I guess I’ll take the plunge…

  4. Kate, I think you’re onto something here with this blog! I’m not much of a cook but might be inspired to try something new once I have my mother’s kitchen to work in. The apartment kitchen is not conducive to cooking much of anything. Speaking of cauliflower, I had cooked some frozen cauliflower in garlic for my lunch yesterday. I don’t mind eating it. I prefer it steamed with a little bit of butter, salt and pepper. The garlic sauce sounded good. Ugh. NOT GOOD. I could barely eat half of it and threw the leftovers away. I hate wasting food!

    • I hate wasting food too – and I’m so surprised that it didn’t taste good! Usually garlic makes everything better! LOL.
      Kudos to you for actually liking cauliflower, and yes, when you have a bigger space, it’s really worth a shot – even if just to say you’ve made it/done it/tried it! 🙂

What do you think?

