Every Tuesday

At our house I do laundry on Tuesday.

Every single Tuesday.

I have my routine and I’m really good at following it. I start with Mr. T’s colors, then his darks, then mine and then finishing with towels. I’ve learned to do the hard stuff first and get it out of the way and save the sheets and towels for the last – cause they are the easiest!

Sadly, this has greeted me the past several Tuesday’s:

20140513-190304.jpg

Apparently I’ve gotten distracted and failed to fold the towels. Today I went to transfer the load from the washer to the dryer and yet again, dryer full of towels!

Today I vow to actually get the towels folded! I hope everyone else is having a great Tuesday and here is wishing you an empty dryer!

45 thoughts on “Every Tuesday

  1. What you need is robot servants. It will solve everything I promise. Plus Mr. T can practice sword fighting with them, and they won’t get hurt.

  2. *StrongNewMe* says:

    I hate getting ready to throw clothes in the dryer and finding the last load still sitting there, waiting to be folded! At least towels aren’t that bad ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Why not choose an other day and take tuesdays to a whole new level …
    I was brought up where it was important to iron everything.
    I learned to let that go and embrace the concept of folding.
    And then I let that one go as well.
    I embrace wrinkled cotton shirts – that are meant to look like that and non iron shirts.
    Towels can always be fluffed up and made yummy warm just when you need them.
    Go with the natural laundry flow Kate ๐Ÿ™‚

    • hahahahaha, Yeah… I can’t. I need my structure and routine or nothing would get done! Because I don’t want to spend my entire weekend cleaning (and because we aren’t home much on the weekends) I clean something every single day. That way, it all gets accomplished, but doesn’t feel overwhelming to me ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. They wouldn’t last a week in the dryer at my house. WE ARE ALWAYS OUT OF TOWELS!! We would be pulling them out of the dryer then running out again before the week is over. I either need more towels or we need to stop showering so much. I LOVE that you do laundry once a week and have a routine. I have no routine, you should see the mountain of clothes in my garage. Motorcycle man keeps saying, lets get rid of these clothes. I’m like “Rich, I’m a girl, I need variety!”

  5. Lol! This is hilarious…I always leave the towels in the dryer cuz they are last for me too. Sometimes I’ll re-tumble them for days before folding them ๐Ÿ™‚ I love “wishing you an empty dryer”..ha!

    • I knew I couldn’t be the only one that will have a dryer full of towels (or other clothes) several days a week! An empty dryer is such a blessing to me – I love when I actually remember to finish a task! I figured a few others of you could use that blessing, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. When is “iron” the clean-clothes day? The only reason I ask is that one of the mums at little T’s play school seemed really surprised when I told her I had loads of ironing to do! She actually blinked and said “You iron your clothes?” I just fold mine! And the weird thing was, I suddenly felt embarrassed! As if I just admitted a really bad habit like I don’t know … drinking gin in the morning? Haha.

    • LMBO!!! I don’t iron!! I have a shower curtain bar in the laundry room and it holds hangers, so for my clothes I stand and pull them out of the dryer and hang them up immediately – preventing wrinkles. Mr. T’s clothes I do take to the couch, as he prefers most of his to be folded.

      We only iron special occasion or clothes that really need it! I bet you could eliminate ironing – if you wanted to!

      • Oh dear! Am I seriously the only one who irons?! Hahahaha. I especially love newly laundered and ironed sheets! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Okay – only iron the pillow cases! My great-grandmother used to iron her sheets, and when we’d stay over, my mom would go “Put the sheets back on fresh from the dryer” and then we would all iron the pillow cases.

        She never knew! You should try that – next time just get the sheets on post-haste, and then iron the pillow cases. I bet you can’t tell the difference! ๐Ÿ™‚

        (And Nanny, if you are reading this – us not ironing the sheets is not what killed you – you lived to a ripe old age and slept just fine with the sheets on the other beds not ironed!)

  7. I wash the towels last too. It’s one of those “I can forget and leave it” loads. If I rediscover them that same night, great. If not, they’re fine till the next day. Only difference is, is that my laundry days are every Monday and Friday. Post weekend recovery and pre-weekend prep.

  8. jeff7salter says:

    Let ’em rest. They ain’t goin’ anywhere.
    Now if you start forgetting the clothes in the WASHER (like we sometimes do), then you’d better worry.

  9. NotAPunkRocker says:

    That’s really good in the winter though, you can tumble them for a few minutes and make them toasty ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

