My May Milestones

Fun fact:  I’m highly competitive.

It’s not always pretty.

Telling me to do something

But….

dare you

And I’m there!

So, Nancy at My Years of Sweat called me out today.  She declared her May goals and I was all happy for her until I read further and saw she totally called me out!!

Well, I have to respond, cause – competitive!

First off, do you remember the bane of my existence?

wall sit

Yes, I did master the wall sit.  I do 1.5 – 2 min every single morning.  That thing is harder than it looks and I’m super proud of myself.

I’m working on the whole yoga thing.  I actually gave up cable last week.  Dad was laughing at me this weekend because apparently after it all happened I called him with a quiver in my voice, so he was happy to hear that I was okay.  I replaced it with antennas in a couple of rooms and an internet streaming device for all of the TV’s.  It’s pretty awesome, but did you know that there are fitness channels?  There is even one dedicated to yoga!

Which brings me to:

may-challenges

  1. Increase my daily exercise from 30 min to 60 min.  This will be a combination each and every day.
  2. Yoga 2 – 3 times a week.
  3. Continue with my wall sit (this is thrown in so that no matter what, I know I will accomplish something!)
  4. Schedule community volunteer time (cause my mental health is just as important!)

Okay, there.  I’ve officially set my intention for the month of May! There are plenty of others who are holding themselves accountable, what about you? 🙂

 

53 thoughts on “My May Milestones

  1. Great goals Kate! You have inspired a lot of people. I just started trying to cut out gluten which I am not supposed to eat anyway but I have cheated for years. Going to try to stick with it this time. It’s been three days and I’m hungry lol I guess my body will eventually get used to it. Maybe we can encourage each other to stick to our goals 🙂

    • LOL! I will admit that the moment I declared my intention – my desire went out the door! I think that it really is just the fact that I had a massive allergy attack from our “pollen vortex” but I had to move all of my workouts indoors and that’s not as much fun!

  2. My May milestone- which seems quite ridiculous compared to yours :)- is to take one week COMPLETELY OFF between the end of the Spring semester and the start of Summer. I.e. no responding to work e-mails, students questions and so on. I have one week off and I am going to take advantage of it!

  3. Woo Hoo! What great goals! I’m a huge goal girl, but have been a bit off my norm since April 1. You have just motivated and inspired me to spend some time today in planning mode. At a quick glance I think I will set a workout goal / fitness goal. I will work out minimum 60 minutes a day. I will eat fewer processed foods / junk foods. I will also do a few other things…but this is a good start!
    Sending you copious amounts of energy for you extra workout!

    • YAY! I’m so excited! You already do more in a day that I can dream of – but I recognize that less processed food will be harder for you since you travel so much during the week! I’m sending you good energy as you make the extra effort food wise!! 🙂
      Thanks Katherine!

  4. Good for you Kate! Keep sharing with us – its the best holder of accountability!
    Research shows that shame is actually the best motivator … which doesn’t sit well with us more positive folks!!
    When I decided to give up people I sent an email to everyone in my account and made a request for them to check in and send me jokes and upbeat message. I couldn’t let them (and therefore me) down!
    Make it work 🙂
    Val x

    • Thanks Val! I totally believe that shame is the best motivator, because you are right – that doesn’t sit well with us!!
      I will admit I only did 45 min yesterday, which means I didn’t meet the goal, but I was able to overcome it! The fact that I didn’t dwell on it, and started today fresh is a big deal for me! 🙂
      Have a wonderful one!!

  5. I try to set goals every week, and usually accomplish a third of them. But I guess they would equal nothing if I didn’t set any goals. So I guess there’s that. You’re a goal accomplishing machine, so I’ll need to borrow your skills please.

  6. I completely forgot about the wall sit! I’ll be trying it again. You have a great plan! Good for you! It’s great to be motivated to improve ourselves, both internally and externally. I just changed my daily work out routine today. I’m keeping my 45 minutes of cardio/circuit training, but added more strength training to the mix.

    • I have to start adding strength training. I’m not sure how… So I would love to hear what you are doing – if you want to share! I can come up with lots of cardio, but am clueless about strength training. Do planks count? I want to do a plank challenge to work my upper body.

      • Sure! I do a variety of squats with weights, sit ups with weights and arm strengthening as well. I use lighter weights (5lbs) for my arms because I’m not looking to be buff, just want to be tone. Also, lots of pushups and tricep dips (coffee table is great for this). Planks do count.When you’re doing them, you’re strengthening multiple areas; arms, abs, glutes, and legs. If you need a plank challenge partner, keep me in mind. I’d do it.

  7. That’s pretty awesome about the wall sit! Remember you were thinking it was going to be too difficult at first and now look!?!
    I surprised myself today and dead lifted 110 pounds. For being an out of shape fat girl, that’s good. Hopefully once I get to fairer climate (TX), I can get outdoors more often and walk the dogs. Plus the apartment complex has some fitness equipment so that will be nice too. Good for you on setting goals. I should incorporate an hour of exercise a day, but I think I’m going to let myself get through the next couple weeks first and then probably the next several weeks after that to get accustomed to TX weather! I’ll probably lose a few pounds between now and then just by not sitting at a desk all day.
    I’d love to do yoga more. I tried it, I liked it and found out it isn’t as easy as it looks! 🙂

    • LOL @ yoga! So true!

      It’ll be so much easier once you are here in TX, except in the dead of summer, and then you’ll be happy for the AC in the fitness room! I can’t believe you dead lifted 110 pounds – I struggled with 60 the other day!!

      And, yes, I set the goal of an hour of exercise, I told everyone about it – and I’ve done zero today! 🙂

  8. I’m so happy Nancy and Spirit Lights the Way suggested your blog to me. What fun. I love your go-for-it spirit! I just started my own 12-week fitness-photo challenge today (thought not much participation from others) but, hey, I’ve put myself out there and gone public, so I’m committed now. Or at least I should be committed, some might think. Anyway, I’m a follower now of your blog because I need to stay focused and have fun. And a little cheerleading might help me, too.

    Anyway, here’s the link to my 12-week goals that I just posted on my blog: http://wp.me/p4cVSa-fr
    Cheers, and a little butt-kicking are always welcome.

    I’ll be back here for sure.

  9. Good luck Kate, great goals. May is a very busy month for me, aside from Zumba and walking Dexter can’t imagine there will be time to do anything more, but I’ll look forward to reading how you get on with your goals. Xxx

  10. You are completely inspiring me right now. I love friends like you who are good influences. I’m so excited to see where we both are at the end of this month. I think I will need to work up to the time you have on the wall sit, I’m impressed!

  11. Go girl, 60min every day requires a fair bit more organisational skills! Do you still run? I’ll focus on the back this month together with sticking to exercising at least 3 times a week. Your post was a great reminder, thanks!

  12. That’s a really motivating fitness challenge! Wall sit is terribly challenging! My legs are wobbling now at the thought of it. I look forward to your updates of the Yoga and wall sit! I am so happy for you on these goals! 🙂

  13. Yeah!!! You go, with your bad-ass, Kate! I’m SO excited you are joining in!
    p.s. If you want, even though I couldn’t figure out the whole button thing, you can totally use my May challenges image from the post. Just right click and save? Use as you see fit! 🙂
    Can’t wait to cheer each other on through our challenges this month!

  14. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I have to figure out how to build goals and stay accountable, but not tick my doctor off in the meantime. That might be my mini-goal for the week.

    • That is a balance sometimes, for sure, and I think it’s a great mini-goal for the week! I’m trying to figure out how to build my goals, too – which is why I picked ones that I was already working on or felt confident about… they seemed like goals I could meet!

What do you think?

