I Got a Smile

I got a smile today!!

Image

The guy lives in a different state.

Okay, I totally appreciate the sentiment, but I’m not moving to another state! Do I contact him back? Is there a point to it?  Cause just in case you didn’t know, I’m not moving!!!

While I was on the site I went ahead and looked at my “matches”.  I’m learning how to navigate the site and I made a point to look at everyone that the site said I should, plus everyone that fit my requirements.

I wasn’t brave enough to send out a smile to anyone else… I’m guessing that with online dating my thinking that “the man should make the first move” is antiquated, yes?

But, now, every man I looked at will be able to see that I looked at their profile – and then hopefully they will look at mine and tomorrow I’ll have some action!

Well, not that kinda action…

🙂

Image

Image

Image

46 thoughts on “I Got a Smile

    • LOL! It’s fun, but it’s hard, too!! I was telling my mom the other day “It’s day 3 and I’m already done!” 🙂 But, just like everything else, you get out of it what you put in it… at least that is what I keep telling myself!

  1. Good for you! Ive just learned of your on line dating, since I fell off the face of the earth for a moment. Exciting!!:)

  2. I’m gunna be at the edge of my seat now…like all the time. What’s going on with Kate? It has me thinking of the movie remake with Ben Stiller Walter Mitty, opening scene. May the force be with you because we all know it’s not just you they have to impress but Mr. T too!!

    • You know, if Mr. T hadn’t been one of the three people that had recently mentioned that I should start dating, I wouldn’t be doing this! It’s hard!! I just spent time going through my matches and think I reached out to a couple of guys… We’ll see!

  3. Its just a smile … not a proposal. Its lovely. Take it baby steps Kate – and try to keep it real.
    Be careful until you find out more about where they are coming from.
    Out of state can mean
    1. he’s gone through everyone local and is getting desperate
    2. he’s in a relationship already and can’t be seen by those who know him
    3. he’s impulsive and doesn’t think things through
    4. he smiles at everyone new that comes on line
    5. he’s prepared to look far for someone special
    Hugs!
    Val

    • Okay, there are too many variables!!! This is why I don’t date!! Who can keep up with all of this?!?

      I’m still going to send genuine smiles out and make contact with one or two – just because I want to be able to say that I gave it my all!!

      It’s day 2 and I’m already freaked out! LOL

      • And … Remember to breathe!
        .. In some ways this is a game to be played. I played on the roller coaster of hopes, and dashed dreams for over a year and then my guy showed up. He wasn’t at all What I expected … But turned out to be such a good guy who shared what I love in life and had a great sense of humor!

  4. NotAPunkRocker says:

    You never know, it could be that kind of action! 🙂

    What?

    A smile is a good thing, of course he would be a fool not to smile at you too!

    Does the site you are on ask if you are willing to relocate? Maybe they said “yes” which puts them with matches outside of the state?

  5. Totally antiquated, especially when you’re on a website full of people that you’re never going to see in real life, and if you do, you won’t recognie them anyway. They’re strangers, so be free to smile at anyone you like, and even if this guy lives in another state, and you never ever meet him, who’s to say that you and he won’t become great friends and become a support system for eachother? or that he’s actually the love of your life, and things work out? or he’s a psychokiller? you’ll just never know unless you smile. 🙂

  6. Can you give hims smile back? Oh right you did, just noticed your comment above. Hahaha. Yes, I think a smile back is a good move too 🙂

  7. Somehow, I thought online dating would be simpler than real life dating. Apparently not. There is still so many “cues” to decipher and decisions to be made. But smiles seem harmless enough; I say the more the merrier. 🙂

What do you think?

