Happy Easter 2014

Hi everyone!  I can see that you all have been up to no good, and I’m pretty impressed with that!

Friday I was off work, but due to the bad weather Texas has this winter, Mr. T had school.  As much as I missed him, it was so nice to have the house to myself and I cleaned!  I cleaned everything!

And it felt GOOD!

We’ve been so busy lately that my regular cleaning schedule fell by the wayside and it really did feel good to catch up and make my house sparkle!

I went and grabbed some take out for my dinner, because Mr. T wasn’t coming home.  I don’t get near enough random nights alone, but Friday Mr. T stayed after school for a basketball game, in the official capacity of School Mascot minus the suit.  I’m still not sure what he did at the game, but he had fun! After the game the cheerleaders had a lock-in at the school.

Yes, my son spent the night with a dozen girls.

🙂

I picked him up at 7 am Saturday morning and ran him back home to shower and help me load the car.  We had 8 am rehearsal at church for the Easter performance, and then we went out to breakfast and then headed into town for the Youth Group Car Wash fundraiser and spent the rest of the day washing and vacuuming cars to raise money for youth camp.

Car wash

Wonderful group of kids!  And the adults aren’t that bad either!

Car wash 3 Mr. T “cleaning” off the top of the truck… also known as spraying  anyone he can! car wash 2

After spending all day there, we headed to Grammy and Papa’s house – they have hired Mr. T to do their yard for the summer, and he’s just about as excited as they come!  He’s wanted a job for almost a year now, and he is devastated that no one will hire a 15 year old! But, his grandparents have come through and he’ll be working hard for his paycheck!

Once that was done, we hung out for a bit, mainly because we were too tired to even get back in the car, but also because my sister and her kids were over!

photo 1

Joshua, Bella and I taking a selfie!

photo 2

Everyone discovering the camera is more fun.

photo 3Really Aunt Kate, we can handle the camera!

photo 4 Mr. T having fun with baby Bella.

photo 5

Joshua learning the art of the photo-bomb!

Eventually Mr. T and I made it home and went to bed early.  Because we were up even earlier the next day to attend the Sunrise Service at our church.  Afterwards there was a potluck breakfast for all of us early risers… I cheated and stopped and bought donuts for the table.  And they were good! 🙂

Here is a shot I got of Mr. T.  It’s not very good, but I was at the back of the room up in the sound room balcony.  My part was just voice work, and even then I was totally nervous – but Mr. T, he was spectacular, as usual!

T performing

Eventually we made it back home and my dad was generous enough to swing by and pick up the towels we had borrowed for the car wash that I finished folding that afternoon.

Of course, I had made them a loaf of homemade artisan bread as a thank-you, but I’m sure that didn’t have anything to do with it! 🙂

Bread 2

And now, I need a weekend to recover from my weekend!

47 thoughts on “Happy Easter 2014

  1. *StrongNewMe* says:

    I have so many blurry pictures on my phone from the kids insisting they can take the picture themselves! Ha ha. Mr. T sounds like a fun person to be around.

    • Good Friday isn’t a public holiday, we did decide to close our office and normally Mr. T would have it off school, but it is a “school holiday OR bad weather make-up day”, and we had a lot of bad weather and so he had to make up that day.

      And no, we don’t get Monday off! I’ve never heard of such a thing! That’s awesome!

  2. What fun! I’m glad to hear you had an awesome weekend! And you cleaned? Baaah. All I did for the long weekend was sloth around the house. Easter was fun because we went egg hunting and swimming. I wish for more long weekends!

  3. Phew! I think I felt a little bit tired after reading your busy day 🙂 Mr. T is such a lucky young man to be with seven young girl! 😉 I’m impressed 🙂 And that bread looked absolutely scrumptious!

  4. First of all, the smiles were just pretty amazing. You all had me smiling with all your happy smiles. I also like your headband Kate and I also love a sparkly house when ever that happens far and few between. What a wonderful time you all had!! oh bread!!! yum.

What do you think?

