My new New Year’s resolution

This subject has been coming up a lot lately in my life, and I went back to read the post I wrote and figured it would do me well to re-post it! Help keep me accountable and my goals fresh in my mind!
Enjoy! And Happy Friday!

Did That Just Happen Blog

So, now you know all about me being a Yes Man.  And how it’s about become second nature to me.  So, that means it’s time to work on more self-improvement.  Ugh.

I’m technically going to make it my New Year’s Resolution, even though I’m not waiting until the New Year, cause hey – we all get asked that question – “did you make any resolutions?”  Why yes I did, I just implemented them months before you thought to ask me about personal growth!

I have to stop comparing myself to other parents, other women, other people in general.  I read somewhere that the fastest way to pop your own bubble of joy is to compare yourself to others (I’m paraphrasing, of course!).  It’s human nature to look around and compare yourself.  She is thinner than I am, He is funnier than I am.  I’m a way better singer than…

View original post 337 more words

10 thoughts on “My new New Year’s resolution

    • So much easier to notice things to be grateful for, I’m getting good at living a life of gratitude!

      I’m really struggling with not comparing myself to others! That one is so much harder for me! I am better – and when I catch myself I stop and change my thoughts; however, it is not second nature yet!

      • That is good, to notice all the good things in life and to feel the gratitude!
        I recently talked to a 20+ girl who has a serious heart condition, and she told me that the worst thing she can imagine is that she, a minute before she dies (and she wasn’t supposed to live past 3 years, so she must have thought about this) only can think of all the things undone instead of feeling that she made the best out of it and seized the moments. I got the shivers when she said it with such wisdom and consideration, after all, she is only a bit more than 20!

  1. I love how much I laugh when I read your blog. I chuckled out loud at the idea of making resolutions months in advance and then feeling a bit superior when people ask about them later. Funny that you are writing about comparing yourself to others. I believe it was you who made a comment on my blog about not comparing your middle with someone else’s ending. those words have stayed with me and transformed my thinking. So glad you re- blogged this resolution post. I love when people are committed to becoming a better version of themselves. it benefits us all.

    • Thank you!! Sometimes I just need tangible reminders of my personal goals and I’ll be the first to admit that I am still very much a work in progress! And I hope that I’m always working at being a better version! Love how you phrased that!

What do you think?

