I Won’t Be a Survivor

First off, it’s Tuesday, and on Tuesday my friend Karaboo calls me.  She drives from one work location to another and if she times it right, I’m at lunch.  Plus, I work from home, of all of us, I’m the only one that doesn’t have someone looking over my shoulder frequently!

Dilbert work at home

I look forward to our Tuesday chats, but today, today shows why we are friends.

She called and I told her that I was catching up on blog reading, and that there are some things that I just shouldn’t read.  This is a blog that I just recently started following, so I wasn’t that familiar with it, but I was reading and they had mentioned Doomsday Preppers and a year’s worth of food on hand.

That was all I had to say and Karaboo goes “I think I follow that blog, too!”

Great minds people great minds!

great minds think alike

I was kinda freaking out because now I think I need a years supply of food – and as we discussed previously, my dad really does think that hoarding food is a good thing right now because our President is sending our country into a downward spiral.  So, between my dad, and now this blog… I was seriously wondering where to put this extra food!

Karaboo and I were talking, and I figured if the Zombie Apocalypse happened, well, Mr. T and I would head over to mom and dad’s (because of the aforementioned fact that dad is hoarding food).  So, maybe I don’t need my own stockpile.  Maybe.

zombie stockpile

Who am I kidding? I want this stockpile!

Then Karaboo mentioned that her kids have brought this subject up and asked what they would do and Karaboo told them honestly that she wasn’t worried because odds are, they won’t survive.

Here is another reason why we are good friends:  I was silent, I didn’t quite have a response for that, but Karaboo knew that inside my head I was going

WHAT?!?!  What do you mean?!? And why would you say that out loud?  What?!?

She let me know that if she’s learned anything from The Walking Dead, it’s that out of the billions on Earth, only about 3 dozen survived.  Odds are, we won’t be part of that 3 dozen.

Okay, when you put it that way… She’s right.  I won’t be a survivor.

I’ve officially decided that I don’t need that food stockpile.

But I won’t turn this down if you want to get me a gift!

Zombie 3 day survival kit

45 thoughts on “I Won’t Be a Survivor

  1. If you stockpile food and people are starving, they will just loot your home and leave you for dead anyway. In the end it would be just a waste of time and money…go buy yourself a dress instead! 😉

  2. Must be a Canadian thing, but I haven’t heard the talk about stockpiling food being a thing up here. As far as surviving goes, I know I won’t – I don’t run, for anything. And running seems to be an important part of Apocalypse survival.

  3. Hahahahahahahahaha! I have been raised to be a survivor and have been preparing for the inevitable take over by our government since birth. Growing up in the clann stronghold in the woods here in rural Oregon, we fully intend to survive, come hell or high water. Its kind of frightening. Do I really want to survive? I can tell you that after watching The Walking Dead, I have to call the positivity of survival in to question. However, if we are hit with the zombie apocalypse soon, I have enough green beans and sauerkraut to last a lifetime. At least until I’m bitten, and then I’m going to eat my husband’s brains.

  4. Sounds like a good friend! And I’m excited to read her blog 🙂 When I was pregnant with my son, I got really into couponing…around the time that extreme couponing show was on. I got so into it that I built our own little stockpile. My husband LOVED it and I think is a bit disappointed I jumped off of that bandwagon. He’s a bit of a dooms day-er and would love an underground bunker. I feel like I’ve made this comment before on one of your posts. haha, dejavu?

  5. I worked with a guy many years ago who was a devout Mormon and also a huge conspiracy theorist. During a long road trip one day he shared all the nefarious things that the super powerful handful of people running the world are doing to screw us all over: One world government; all currency devalued to nothing; and so on, and so forth. There were even tales of virgin sacrifices at their once-per-year get together in a super secret location. He also shared that he had a 3 year supply of food and water at home. (I got the sense that this may be a Mormon belief, but it could just be his conspiracy theory driving this one) and also invested all his savings in gold bullion. (That part was definite conspiracy theory.)

    Me, I think I’ll just bury myself in a bottle of tequila, eat all the cheesecake my heart desires, have dirty, crazy, raunchy sex and then call it a day.

  6. I like the survival kit and would gladly take one. All I know is that if anything happens, I’ll be heading for the hills where I can live off the land. Actually, that sounds good even if nothing happens. 🙂

    • hahahaha, I keep thinking that I’d love to live off the radar, have a solar powered house, collect all my rainfall and reuse it, tend to a massive garden.

      Then I remember that I live in an area that only gets like 2′ of rain a year and I can’t live without my internet!

  7. I love that a good portion of your “survival” plan involves heading over to your parents. I was wondering- did you read that in a survival manual or did you come up with that yourself ? 🙂

  8. Besides….if we did actually happen to survive….I’ve never once seen any of the zombies actually eat anything that resembles food we would stockpile anyway. So…we’d just find us some doomsday preppers hoard and hang out there!

    Or Walmart….that works too! 🙂

  9. Please. What are you going to do just stay in the house with your food for months. No thanks. I say a weeks worth of food is plenty. If things, get so bad, well, there’s always cannibalism. Just kidding. Watch out kids.

  10. I would want a little longer than a 3 day survival pack. But this was a great post. So funny. I have a friend like this. We are both a little crazy. I think about these things too. 🙂
    PS. I love the walking dead.

What do you think?

