Things are Leeking Around Here

I have been getting the Bountiful Baskets the past several weeks. The premise is $50 worth of fruit and veggies for $15. I was originally skeptical, but Erica at Graced by Emilie talked me into it and I’m so glad she did! This is a volunteer food co-op and I highly recommend you check it out and see if they operate in your area.  I’ve loved this because it is supporting local and it is a great value. The program has also has forced me to make sure we have a fruit and veggie in every single meal!

In the last basket, I got leeks.

Image

Thanks to Organic Gardening News for the image.

Now, I’ve cooked with leeks before, once… years ago.

Yes, I could have gone with the standard potato leek soup.  But really, I’m better than that.

My first use of them was bacon and leek macaroni and cheese.  Oh. My. Goodness.

But that was probably the bacon.

I found several recipes for leek and goat cheese bruschetta.  Yes please! (OrtsofSorts, it’s better late than never! This is what you commented on the other day on D.C.)

Hello little cast iron skillet.  I just don’t get to use you as often as I like!

Image

I just realized how dirty my stove top is.  Don’t judge.

As soon as I had everything out and ready to use, I realize that I was out of bacon.  I had used the last of it in the aforementioned mac n’ cheese dish.  I still consider it a worthy sacrifice.  So, with no bacon to add to the bruschetta, I improvised.  Instead of butter or oil to saute the leeks, I used bacon grease.

And I’d do it again!

In the bountiful basket, mom and I split an add-on of artisan bread, and it came with a rosemary herb baguette.  You bet your buns I couldn’t wait to slice into that!

Image

Nice sized slices, spread generously with butter and then tossed under the broiler for just a few minutes.  When I pulled them out I spread them with goat cheese and topped with the sauteed leeks.

Image

It was ambrosia.  That’s right, I’m claiming that I made the nector of the gods.  And I’m standing by that claim!

I’m also so very excited to tell you that the outdoor grill was finally lit up last week.

This may not seem like much to you, but it’s just been too cold to go outside and BBQ… and I live in a state (both mentally and physically) where it is never too cold to BBQ!

So, in a manner that hopefully makes the Patrons of the Pit proud, I bring you my grilled stuffed turkey burgers!

I took my turkey meat with the shredded carrots, diced onion and bell peppers and added an egg and some turkey stuffing mix.  I’ve found stuffing mix to be so much more flavorful than bread crumbs, and well, that package had been sitting open for weeks and it was time to use it up.  Then I stuffed the burgers with some feta cheese that was left over.  Needless to say, the burgers were huge, so I cut my patty in half and had one for supper and one for lunch the next day.

Yes, you are seeing grill marks on the pineapple.  If you’ve never grilled fruit – do it now! You don’t know what you are missing!

Image

Don’t judge my use of ketchup.

Yes, I’ve had more food posts than normal lately, but I can’t help that I’ve made such good food.  🙂  Enjoy and we’ll be back to my regular madness soon enough!

And, find a little bit of glee in the fact that I just typed all of this up and then realized that I have nothing planned for dinner tonight…

36 thoughts on “Things are Leeking Around Here

  1. Saw your comment on Val’s post this morning and thought I’d swing by to say hi . . . not knowing that I would be meeting someone who created ambrosia from a basket bundle of leeks! Go you! 😀

    • They are not a veggie I would ever buy – so having them in the fridge and being forced to make them (because you know I’m not going to waste food if I can help it!) I got to look up and find new recipes. And, seriously, the bacon and leek mac n’ cheese (I really am thinking Rachel Ray) was so worth it!!

      I also had an acorn squash, and I made an acorn squash,prosciutto, penne pasta recipe that at 8:30 last Mr. T decided his tummy really wanted!

    • Thank you! Although, sometimes my son wishes I didn’t experiment or just throw things together, as there have been plenty of times we’ve sat down for supper, had a bite, looked at each other and Mr. T goes “Maybe you don’t make this one again…”
      🙂

  2. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I am still jealous that you get such a bountiful basket of produce for fifteen bucks!

    That’s a lotta leeks though 🙂

  3. Oh, My! Thank you so much for sharing this! Does anyone else hear angels singing???? Your kitchen must have smelled amazing. I will definitely try the bruschetta. My mouth was leeking (ok, drooling) looking at the pictures. I can’t wait for grill season so I can stuff some burgers with cheese and then stuff them in my mouth!
    Great stuff, Kate! I’m hungry now so I’m going to go eat.

  4. So cool! My friend does the Bountiful Baskets thing and loves it too. I would have taken your potato and leek soup gladly…..but now I want everything else you made!! Awesome job, thanks for sharing, oh and thanks for pointing out that I really, really know nothing about cooking. hahaha

  5. Well that’s a nifty idea, using stuffing for bread crumbs! It might have taken me years to figure that out. And proud of you for getting outside and living the good life at the grill front.

    That burger looks fantastic. And now I crave a tater tot. Thanks.

  6. oh my, that burger looks freakin’ amazing!! And I love the pic of the bruschetta…you’re totally on your way to being a food blogger 😉 I did something like the Bountiful Basket once but didn’t stick with it. You’re making me want to reconsider though.

    • The pic of the burger was horrible, but I had already sat down to eat! But I am so glad that you like the picture of the bruschetta, I thought it turned out great! 🙂
      And I am really loving the basket. I have a whole bunch of bananas that are about to be banana bread, but otherwise, I have been really good at eating the fruit and veggies! 🙂

What do you think?

