Ding! Ding! Ding! And the Winner is:

Bronchitis!

Friday afternoon I got in to see the doctor.  I knew something was wrong with my chest – besides the fact that it kept making me pee! After several rounds of questions and some pokes and prods, she pronounced my diagnosis as bronchitis.  She said I would get a steroid shot, some antibiotics, cough syrup and prescription cough pearls.  Oh, and an inhaler.  Okay.  Sure.

First off, I’ve never had bronchitis, but I can deal with that.  I’ve also never had a steroid shot, but how bad can it be?

Image

The nurse comes in, has me shift my pants to expose my hip, grabs a wad of fat and goes “Okay, here comes a little pinch.”

I so got this!

“Now here comes the medicine, it might sting a little”

Okay, yeah, there is a small sting – but I’m one tough cookie!

A band-aid, quick adjustment of my pants and I was out of there.  It wasn’t until I was following the nurse out of the exam room that it hit me!  As I told my Facebook friends “I grabbed my butt and gave the nurse a dirty look!”  Now it stung! All of the sudden, I wasn’t such a big girl anymore!

Image

I ran to Wal-Mart to pick up my meds and do the grocery shopping and about half way through it hit me.  I have a lingering cough and Mr. T has a lingering cough… I was just diagnosed with bronchitis… hummm.  I whipped out my phone and placed a call to Mr. T’s doctor.  No, they won’t just call in a script (I knew they wouldn’t, but I had to give it a shot.) but they could fit us in Saturday morning at 9:30 am.

I finished shopping, made it home and unloaded the groceries.  I was utterly exhausted.  I checked work emails and sent up a prayer of thanks that the sub sandwich in the deli had called my name and that I didn’t have to fix dinner!

Mr. T and I made it to his doctor appointment this morning.  Guess what? He has bronchitis, too.

I know, you didn’t see that coming, did you?

Image

Back to Wal-Mart to get his meds.  And some ingredients for a soup that just sounded great.  Then over to mom and dad’s to help them load up Lee’s old TV that weighs 200 pounds. That might be an exaggeration, but not by much!  Mom said that she’d make my soup for me and dad could bring it over later.  Sign me up!  Yes please! Thank you mom and dad!

Home to eat lunch, take a nap and then dad brought over the soup and some yummy cheesy garlic bread for dinner.  It was so nice not to have to worry about cooking dinner and just be able to rest!  The coughing part is horrible, but the fatigue that is attached to this illness might actually be the death of me!

Image

So, we are taking our meds and tomorrow is a new day! Plus, after church we’ve decided that it won’t wear us out too much to go see The Hobbit! We’ve been trying to see it since opening weekend, but time has been working against us!  Not tomorrow!  We’ll order some lunch and let them bring it to us while we sit back for 3 hours and just enjoy!

45 thoughts on “Ding! Ding! Ding! And the Winner is:

  1. Hope you’re both feeling better by now. I am so behind on my reading, we won’t even talk about writing. What I’m dying to know is ….how was the movie???

    • Oh my goodness!!! the movie was soooo good! I’m so glad that we got to see it in the theatres! A friend of mine gave me a $40 gift card for Xmas, so we went and ordered us each a pizza, large drink and then we split some fries (because apparently I was starving!) and sat back and just enjoyed it. The time flew by, didn’t feel like 3 hours! and talk about cliff hangers! Can’t wait for the last one!!!

  2. Oh no, I’m sorry you are so sick 😦 I had bronchitis a year ago… the lingering of it is one of the worst things. I hope you all enjoy/enoyed The Hobbit! I was also sick when I went to see it but that didn’t keep me away haha. Our theatre serves food and I definitely ate some chicken noodle soup and crackers there in the dark.
    Get to feeling better!

  3. I’m so sorry you’ve been under the weather, but I am laughing so hard from your comments about your chest (coughing???) making you pee that I almost, well, peed! I know that I should not think it is that funny but I do. Then, to throw in the cartoon about rocking a tutu and throwing glitter in someone’s eye really did me in!
    Bronchitis is nasty stuff. I hope you kick it in its nasty butt soon! I think it’s great that your mom made the soup for you and that your dad brought it over (plus bread)!
    Continue to take it easy (Mr. T, too) as it can really drag you down.
    I’m sending good thoughts for health and wellness to you both! I hope you can recognize the sparkling energy through all of the glitter!

    • I can feel that good energy! Thanks Katherine! Mr. T and I both are on meds and I can tell they are working, so hopefully by this weekend we will both be back to normal! And maybe I’ll regain control of my bladder… At least, I sure hope so!

    • The steroid shot was supposed to give my body extra energy to help it heal faster. I was told that it would probably make me jittery. I can tell you that I didn’t feel any side effects – and even went to bed early that night! So, I don’t know if it helped me at all or not!

  4. Hope you both feel better soon Kate! Take care of yourself and get plenty of rest. I had bronchitis a few years ago and it was not fun. Be careful because if you don’t take care of yourself it can relapse and you don’t want that to happen. Sounds like you have a lot of good people around to help you!

  5. I’m sorry you’ve been feeling crappy (and peeing yourself) haha..just kidding, but glad you and Mr. T are on the mend and seem to be finding the small bits of happiness in the midst of it all. how was the movie? sounds fun!

    • It was so good! Mr. T and I love the movies, and I’m really fortunate that I’ve instilled in him a love of all types of movies and books – everything from sci-fi, to fantasy and more!
      but, it was part 2 of 3, and boy did it leave on a cliffhanger!

  6. terresall says:

    Take the time to heal! Rest is vital, so don’t succumb to the temptation to do too much too soon. And when you’re feeling better, go for the tutu! 😉

  7. Bronchitis can be so tough to deal with. i had it for the first time a few years ago and I could not believe how it wiped me out! take care of yourself and I love that you still have your sense of humor 🙂

    • Thanks! I am extremely surprised at how it has wiped me out! I told my parents today that it’s the first day in three weeks that I haven’t been flat out exhausted and my dad goes “It’s amazing what a difference it makes when you can actually breathe.” He’s right, I just never made the connection!!

  8. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Steroid shots and pills for asthma and bronchitis are fun. They help quickly but man do they mess with my emotions.

    Healing thoughts being sent to both of y’all!

    • You know, I kinda expected more from the steroid shot, but except for the fact that it’s sore at the injection site, I didn’t get any of the side affects – like the burst of energy that the nurse said I should expect! I was looking forward to that, and instead, I was in bed 2 hours early! LOL.
      Thanks for the good thoughts!

What do you think?

