Homemade Gifts for my Girls

In case you missed it, at the beginning of the month I shared with you my homemade gifts for the guys in my life.  I had a lot of fun making those, but I had even more fun making the gifts for the ladies in my life.

There are probably 300+ different ways to dress up hot chocolate floating around Pinterest.  I kept seeing them all over the place and decided, yeah, they look pretty good!

Homemade hot chocolate gifts

First, I gathered my supplies.  I bought a big can of hot chocolate mix, some milk chocolate chips – and the store was out of marshmallows on the day I did my shopping.  I’m not joking.  I walked to the aisle, stopped, picked my jaw up off the floor and (very loudly) stated “How can they be out of marshmallows??” I looked around in disbelief and I may or may not have kept repeating “how can they be out of marshmallows?” as I looked blankly at the shelves and those lucky people around me!

An employee took pity on me – after she stopped laughing at my reaction (no joke, she had to compose herself before she could help).  Anyway, she and I eventually decided that it had to be Thanksgiving’s fault.  Too many people make that weird sweet potato casserole with the marshmallows on top.  I’ll gladly admit that I don’t understand that dish.  Marshmallows don’t go on vegetables.

But, that’s not what this post is about.  She went and got the guy that works the marshmallow aisle.  (Yeah, I had no clue that aisle had a “guy”.)  Said “guy” confirmed that short of the two bags of “jumbo campfire” marshmallows on the shelf, the store was entirely devoid of marshmallows.

Think about it.  You know how many marshmallows are usually on the shelf… it is an abnormality.

Fortunately, the employee was very well-informed.  She asked if I could use the little marshmallows that are like the ones that come in the packets?  I was like “I can use anything!!”

She let me back to the hot chocolate aisle, and there are these canisters, just like the Parmesan cheese containers, but filled with the little dehydrated marshmallows that are just like what comes in the hot chocolate packages! They are so super cute!  A bit more expensive than real marshmallows, but I was willing to splurge – they are my girls after all! Plus, I didn’t want to make another trip to the store!

Okay, back on track.  I have my hot coco, chocolate chips, marshmallows and I have some “banner” style, food safe bags to put this all in.  I grabbed a small pitcher to hold the bag as I filled it, and I discovered that two servings fit nicely in the bag.  I put in scoops of hot chocolate, a layer of chocolate chips and then the marshmallows.

IMG_2462

I put a twist tie on top and stored them all together in a measuring cup.  Now, you can use any vessel handy to store the bags upright, I just happened to have a measuring cup handy.  Okay, the measuring cup doesn’t matter, I just didn’t want the mixture to, well, mix!

IMG_2465

Then you lay everything out on the table to try and put it together.  You grab the blue lunch sacks because they’ve been in your gift wrapping closet for several years, and this is a perfect opportunity to get rid of them because you have some pretty blue and silver ribbons that will make it look like you went with a blue theme!  You also grab the really cute flasks you bought!  I found a great deal on some disposable flasks, they have a giant peace symbol on them and are funky colored, and every time the ladies see it they will think of me! And what better way to keep warm than some hot chocolate secreted away in a flask? It’s brilliant I tell you!

Now, for the Diva’s, I added something else to their gift bag.

IMG_2456

I made them an ornament!  I have a picture of all five of us, it’s casual, we were just all hanging out in the garage and managed to get together for a picture! I took the picture and printed it on vellum paper, wallet sized.  Then I found some clear plastic balls, and I inserted the picture.  Then, I had to go grab my tweezers because some of the pictures fell in funny and my OCD wouldn’t let me leave them crooked!  Naturally, they looked a little bare, so I grabbed some “snow” and dumped it in the bottom of the ornament!

IMG_2459

A (not so quick because it took me forever to get them done properly) silver bow on the top completed the ornaments! I added those to the gifts bags, tossed on the pretty ribbons and voila!

IMG_2467

All packaged up nice and somewhat neat!

  • Food safe bags: $1.29/30 = $0.04
  • Hot chocolate: $5.00/39 = $0.26 (two servings per bag)
  • Chocolate chips: $4.50/6 =$0.75
  • Marshmallows: $1.49/3 = $0.50
  • Flasks: $2.00 ea

Hot Chocolate gift $4.35 per person.  The left over chocolate will be used by us at home, so for less than $15 overall, I have gifts for six people plus hot chocolate for us at home!

  • Clear plastic ornaments: $1.00 each
  • Vellum paper: $1.00 (I think, I really can’t remember, but it’s cheap) – and I got 4 pictures out of it.  So, $0.25 each
  • Snow: $2.00 (again, I’m guessing, I’ve lost the receipt!) but for four ornaments – $0.50

Keepsake ornaments – $1.75.

  • gift bags – left over
  • ribbons – left over

Wrapping and bling – Free!

So, it seems like I’m a cheapskate, but I’m not – I’m just really thrifty! And while it may not have cost me a lot of money to put together, I had fun and put a lot of love into the gifts! I hope that you might gather some inspiration from my crafts.  I had a lot of fun trying to come up with  what to give them that was personal, showed I cared and kept me under budget!

40 thoughts on “Homemade Gifts for my Girls

  1. Pingback: Group Therapy: December - Aussa Lorens

  2. Pingback: Group Therapy: December « HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.

  3. Aw, I am way impressed! I need to do some homemade gifts (especially after my boyfriend saw the extent of my spending and was just like UH NO, AUSSA). Also: sweet potatoes with marshmallows on top = yummiest thing in the history of yum! (also also: I originally wrote “fries” instead of marshmallows… which now has me wanting sweet potato fries.. we can compromise on the truth of their deliciousness, yes?!)

  4. I love the picture inside an ornament idea! I am like you, I would have to use tweezers and maybe a laser level to make sure the picture was in there straight, ha ha.

  5. I love the baubles! You are not a cheap sake btw…. You are using your talents and creativity to make lovely presents. I’m so envious of you right now. Do you think Santa would ever-so-kindly give me some of your creative-talent this Christmas? I badly need it. I’m a mom of a three-year-old for goodness sake! :))

  6. I loved this post! Loved hearing how the gift came together…particularly the MIA marshmallow story. I had no idea there was a marshmallow aisle “guy” or that those dehydrated marshmallows were sold separately, good info! Your gifts are precious…I loved the guy gifts and these are adorable, blue themed gifts. Ha!

    • Thanks! 🙂 I had to wait until after I gave the gifts out (which I did at Diva Dinner Tuesday) as I didn’t want to ruin their surprise! It was surprisingly fun and easy to put together, just took a little patience.
      I did leave off the fact that you should rip a few of the bags getting them open because they are so old the glue has seeped – but then you can just tape them up and pretend you don’t ever see it when you hand them out.
      Presents AND cleaning out your closet of old bags and bows. Oh yeah, I’m just that awesome!

    • Welcome! It’s so easy, but dressed up just right, it can be fancy, too! If she’s crafty, tell her to throw on some google eyes and a red pom-pom ball for a nose, and then use brown pipe cleaners to close the top and shape them into antlers. Rudolf!

What do you think?

