Down Payment for my Next Tattoo

photo storage boxI have a couple of these unassuming photo boxes in my armoire.  They are just plain photo storage boxes and I use them to store letters and cards that I receive.  Nothing special, but the perfect size to hold the cards that I can’t seem to make myself throw away.  So, yes, apparently there is a soft candy center under my hard shell!

Today I pulled these boxes out.  I’m looking for tattoo ideas.  Yes, I already have several tattoos, but they are like chips, you can’t have just one! All of my tattoos do have a reason, I selected them all with care – after all, it’s going to be on my body long after by body is no longer inhabited by me!

With Christmas coming up, my brother is on my mind.  It was hard to remove him from my Christmas spreadsheet, but it was even harder to see his name on there!

So, put two and two together… My brother is on my mind and I’m trying to find an idea for a tattoo… Yup, I’m looking for a memorial tattoo.  I’m actually really excited about this, as it will be extra special to me and I already have friends lined up to go with me and get a new one of their own!  I’ve found some nice quotes, but I just haven’t found “it” yet.  Then I remember all of those tattoos I’ve seen that were of a loved ones handwriting.  Eureka!

So, that’s when I jumped up and ran to my room and pulled out my photo boxes.  I started to flip through the cards and letters in an effort to find one from my brother.  I found one fairly quickly, from Mother’s Day a few years ago.  As always, he had signed it “Love, Lee” .  Well, that’s about perfect!  I kept looking because 1) I can’t help myself, it’s fun to trip down memory lane and 2) I wanted another signature for comparison, see if the size will work.

I ran across a birthday card from my sister, from probably 2003 or 2004, it’s not dated, but it’s in that range… and there I found:

twenty dollarsTwenty Dollars!!  Score!!!

Of course, this means that now I really have to go through my cards… what if there is more money or maybe a hidden gift card? I can’t not look!

Even if I don’t find any more money, that’s okay.  I went through the box and found a tattoo idea in honor of my brother and it will be paid for in part by my sister.  Yes, that totally just happened!!

Love Lee

45 thoughts on “Down Payment for my Next Tattoo

    • Thanks! I’m just so pleased at how it all came together! Mom called the other day and I told her I had my next tattoo ready and she goes “How many more are you going to get?” I told her that I don’t have a limit set! (Of course, I only have four, this would be my fifth) But I told her the plan and she goes “oh, how sweet – I have tears!”

  1. I love that you are going to get a tattoo for Lee! You are such a wonderful lady Kate and far braver than I 🙂 I know you have a tattoo on one wrist but you could put Lee’s tattoo on the other wrist. You can feel the heart beat by checking your pulse which is located on the inside of your wrist. Every time you touch it you will feel the heart beating. Remember the poem… “Feel – I am in the beating of your heart… We will never be apart.”
    Just a thought 🙂

    • That’s a great thought! I am going to try and incorporate it like that – somehow! It all just kinda came to me, so I think it is the right move and the right time!
      And I have to make a note to go look up the poem… but not until tonight when it’s okay to ruin my makeup with tears! 🙂

  2. You have a hard outer shell?? I’d never have guessed 😉 I only have 2 tattoos but agree that it is hard to stop once you start. I love Love, Lee….lovely….love,lee….love.lee. So many ways to memorialize a beautiful word. And you are quite lovely Miss Kate. Xo

  3. I hadn’t heard about the handwriting tattoo… That’s a really great idea. And I love that you found the $20, heeey! Something tells me that wouldn’t work for me… I haven’t received a card (or cash) since I was like 8 years old. Clearly I’m a member of the wrong family 😉
    Those memory boxes are like rabbit holes though… once you start looking, you can’t stop. Ah, nostalgia!

    • It was pretty cool to look at a few of the cards and I was super surprised to find money – especially from my sister! But, I also found a really sweet card she had written before that thanking me for being supportive over a decision she had made – that warmed my heart. But, I’m still keeping the $20! 🙂

  4. That was a sign – first you figured out the tattoo and then the money. That will be nice memorial to Lee and put it somewhere you’ll see it everyday so it can give you a smile 🙂

    • Thanks Penney! I think it all just came together perfectly and I’m not going to argue with the Universe! A friend suggested I put it on my upper and inner arm, so that Lee was always next to my heart… but that area is so tender it freaks me out, so I’m thinking on my lower inner arm, above the watch, so that when I put my arm on my chest, the tat would touch my heart.

  5. Oh this is a lovely idea and was obviously meant to be as like you say you already have a down payment for it! Love the thoughts behind all your other tattoos especially Hakuna Matata! Bet that makes you smile every time you look at it 🙂 x

  6. Oh that’s a nice way to remember your brother 🙂 I’ve always wanted a tattoo, but never had the guts to have one. Hahaha. My older brother has a lot and like you they were carefully chosen. He and his wife were recently inked by a 93 year old the ancient way. It’s an interesting story, you can read about it here:http://pinaytraveller.com/archives/8085 on my sister-in-law’s blog 🙂

  7. What a lovely idea for a memorial tattoo, must be the right one as you even got the downpayment for it!

    Btw, they always say that you always want more tattoos; I had one 16 years ago, never regretted it, almost immediately new what my next tattoo would be like, but am still waiting for the urge to have the second one made 😉

    • LOL! I’ll let you know when we go – and maybe then you’ll have the urge and get yours too!

      I remember once that my mom and brother were talking about a girl he was considering dating. He goes “But she has tattoos.” and my mom goes “So does your sister!” I teased him about it next time I saw him “So, I hear you don’t like tattoos.” He laughed and said mine were good – hers, not so much. 😉

      • Yes, please let me know, and I wish to see pics too! We’ll see what the effect will be…

        Funny about your brother! Do you want to share what your other tattoos are about?

      • I got a beautiful Old English “T” with reverse shading on the back of my neck for my son, Travis (He loves it and gets a thrill when my hair is up and he sees it!) I have a purple yin-yang on a shoulder (remind me of balance), I have some very colorful stars on my foot (to remind me to reach for the stars and how far I’ve come in my life) and my most recent one – and one that I have really earned, is on my right wrist, an infinity loop with Hakuna Matata as part of it! hakuna Matata (from The Lion King) is a real word, it does really mean No Worries. So, I get Disney, which I love and a reminder that I’ve learned to let go and not stress over every little thing! I love them all!

        The hard part is deciding where to put “Love, Lee” (and I’m thinking of putting it inside a heart, as he died from heart disease.) If I didn’t already have one on my wrist, I would have put it there, so I’m thinking of putting it on my left side, inner arm – a few inches above my wrist. Or, maybe an ankle… I don’t know! Help me!

      • Love the thoughts behind your tattoos! Hakuna matata is especially cool, my brother will love that one. My tattoo was based on a “poem” made by friends about me.

What do you think?

