Text Message From my Dead Brother

I know, I know, it sounds morbid.  Just stick with me for a minute.

One thing you should know about me is that I tend to save some text messages.  Some are funny, some are touching, some are for reference and some are just sentimental.  Just like at home where I tend to toss or donate a lot, I try not to be an electronic hoarder (hello, that’s why I have Pinterest!), so I will go through every couple of days and clean out my messages.

Last night Mr. T was sitting next to me doing his homework and since I didn’t want the TV on distracting him, I’d been playing on my phone, which can easily keep me busy for an hour or more! I checked Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and Word Press.  All caught up on my social media I moved on to my text messages and began going through and deleting recent messages that I didn’t feel the need to keep.  I was making great progress and then I hit the bottom of my page.

A text message from Lee.

Let me tell you about this text message.  We had let go of Lee earlier in the day and we were all there as he transitioned peacefully to Heaven.  After we got home from the hospital there was so much to deal with – as a reminder, the back bedrooms had flooded a few days before and I was making arrangements for the floor to be checked and the massive fans and dehumidifiers to be picked up, and then the task of moving all of the furniture and items back into the bedrooms and closets.  I was also contacting mom and dad’s cleaning lady and their yard guy to come by and help get things in order in anticipation of guests coming by to offer condolences and then the family arriving before and after the service.

By the time I got home that evening I was mentally and physically exhausted and I had no sooner crawled into bed when my phone went off signaling a text message.  I picked up my phone and it was a blank message from my recently deceased brother!!

Look – see that empty bubble?  What would you think if you got a BLANK MESSAGE?!?  Naturally, after I ruled out electrical phenomenon associated with spirits trying to communicate with me, I figured my parents had his phone.

Image

Like I would be able to sleep after getting this!

You can see what I replied! Shortly after my reply back to them, here is what came through:

Image

Okay, that’s better!

You can see that there were texting me a picture to email my sister who was putting together the tribute video for the service, and pictures take longer to transmit, so it came through after the blank message did.  It wasn’t my brothers spirit trying to connect with me, and well, I’m not sure if I’m relieved or disappointed!

The next day I was telling dad about my reaction and he goes “I told your mom it would freak you out.”  I had to whip out my phone and show him how it came across and the blank message that was the first to hit.  Again, how am I supposed to NOT freak out over that? We all got a good laugh out of it!  I told them I sat there and stared at my phone for several seconds while my brain tried to process it all before reality set in and I realized what was happening… And then getting the rest of the message made more sense!

So, needless to say, I still have the text message from my dead brother and I think I’ll hoard that one just a little bit longer!

Tomorrow is the Heart Walk and our family will walk united in memory of Lee.  And while I’d love a sign from him, I’m just as happy if it doesn’t come in the form of a text message!

Image

Kate’s Heart Walk Donation Page

27 thoughts on “Text Message From my Dead Brother

  1. Sue says:

    I got a text from my deceased son almost three years later . It was an old text but i t came up twice once under his name and again under another number. We think it is an evil prank but I am not sure has anyone else seen this?

  2. I can only imagine that this message would have sent you through the ringer. I think it would have freaked me out and made me sad and happy all together.
    I bet that message will escape the delete button for as long as possible.

  3. That would have freaked me out too! Ok, here’s one for you … so why didn’t your folks just call you about the picture? Maybe Lee’s spirit prompted them to send the message and that’s why the blank bubble came up? hmmm …

  4. *FatToFitBy40* says:

    I would have been worked up about it too, thinking it was somehow from him!

    I save text messages too. I love the ones full of typos from my stepkids, because they always make me laugh. I save the ones too like my boyfriend Gary texting me about picking up his cap and gown (he recently went back to school and graduated a few months ago), because they mean a lot to me.

    • Thanks! It’s been about 6 months since he passed away, and running across that text message, even though it wasn’t from him, still brings good memories of him! Plus, it was kinda funny that my first thought was my dead brother was sending me a text message! Eventually reality did sink in!

      • 1959duke says:

        You are very welcome. I lost my dad almost 5 years ago and there are things that still remind me of him. I want my blog to be a place where women’s life’s stories can be shared. I want you to feel safe knowing that when you click on my blog that your dignity comes first. My wife kept a message from my dad trying to find me for months. You need to deal with his death your own way. Take Care of Yourself!

What do you think?

