In Memory of Lee: Heart Walk

heart walk

As most of you know, I lost my baby brother to heart disease earlier this year.  Most of you were there with me through this journey and I can’t thank you enough for for all of the support you gave me and for putting up with all of the medical terms I tossed your way!

My family and I are participating in the American Heart Association Heart Walk this year and our shirts have been modified to say that we are walking in memory of Lee.  Part of this is the fundraising effort.  The funds that are raised support projects that put up to the minute research into the doctors hands so they can better prevent and treat heart disease; groundbreaking pediatric heart and stroke research as approximately 36,000 babies are born with heart defects each year and research is the key to saving babies lives; and getting life-saving information to those who need it the most – information that can save a life, like how to eat better, how to recognize the warning signs of a heart attack and how to talk to a doctor about critical health choices.

IMG_1459

Little Lee – so strong!

I won’t single you out whether you donate or you choose not to.  This is a personal decision that only you can make – I am just here to give you the opportunity to participate and help if you want.

Donations can be made on-line for as little as $25.  I know that times are tough, but if you can see it in your heart to donate, I’d greatly appreciate it.  Please help me fund research so that no one else has to travel the path that I’ve been on.

For more information or to donate, please click here: AHA Kate’s Page.  Thank you in advance for your support, it is appreciated.

Last picture of Lee and I together.

Last picture of Lee and I together.

As always, if you missed out on the journey with me, you can go back and read the blogs – starting with my favorite one of all times: Then He Kissed the Back of My Hand

One thought on “In Memory of Lee: Heart Walk

What do you think?

