That’s How We Roll

I went camping this weekend.  I’m sure you didn’t know that because it’s not like I’ve mentioned it in every post for the past couple of weeks!

We had so much fun!  It felt so good to get away, enjoy the fresh air, play in the water and hang out with friends.  My Amy and Scott ended up going a day early – and I seriously considered it, but I really had to work the next morning; however, I did wrap up early and get there a few hours sooner than expected!

Image

The girls of the trip

Of course, getting wrapped up took a bit of time! I ran to my parents house to drop off my dog and pick up dad’s truck and then ran by Pam’s office to fill my cooler with ice.  Then, Mr. T was awesome and loaded up the truck.

Mr. T has never loaded up a truck, but by the time I got out there, he was all but done.  I hated to tell him how he messed up, so I just told him that we had to go by Walmart to get some straps or a spider bungee.  I really didn’t want to spend money, so we pulled into the Walmart parking lot and I told T “Let’s just see if we can rearrange a bit.”  It only took three items and we had the truck properly done.  He was upset a bit that he didn’t do it right – but when I reinforced that he’d never done it – and it only took us about 3 items in order to fix it – that was pretty darn good!

Image

Mr. T getting ready…

Image

Aiming…

Image

Fire! And I’m sure it was the winning shot!

We arrived at camp and unloaded the truck and set my tent up – and then we set up T’s tent.  His own tent.  He was not staying with me.  It was weird – but I gotta tell ya – I had so much room in my tent!  That was pretty darn awesome! 🙂

We helped everyone else set up as they arrived and got camp situated.  Then there was the trip to Walmart.  I’d forgotten an extension cord and surge protector for T’s tent.  It happens, even to the best of us!

Image

We make roughing it look easy!  Here is our cooking area.  We set up a table and Karen’s way cool camping table (that does include a kitchen sink – 0f sorts!) to the side of the primary picnic table, that way, when we are done cooking, the table isn’t full of camp stoves and grills.  You can’t see it, but there are a couple of grills and a huge fryer to the left.  🙂

We grilled burgers and dogs Friday night, made eggs, bacon, sausage and hash browns for Saturday breakfast and due to the fact that one of the group had a ton of frozen catfish, we had a fish fry Saturday night.  Yummy!  Fried catfish, french fries, fried okra and hush puppies!

Later that night, we made peach cobbler.  Over the camp fire.  No kidding.

Image

So, maybe the picture doesn’t do it justice, but I gotta tell you – it was pretty cool!

We spent time hanging out, many hours in the lake.  We all went fishing. We even had some really cute guys come over from another camp to play horseshoes with us!

Image

Kevin and Scott talking trash during the game of horseshoes

Sunday morning, about 5:30 am I woke to a flash of lightening and the boom of thunder.  I’d been dead asleep – and we’d only been in bed about 4 hours!  So, I was a bit disoriented.  I did get up and grab my sleep pants, I know I need to go help because half the camp hadn’t put up their rain guard.  All I could think about was the instructions you receive on the plane: “In the event of an emergency and the cabin loses pressure, put your mask on first before helping the children and those around you.”  I figured that had to apply, so I zipped my windows up first.

I heard and then saw Karen putting the rain guard on her son’s tent and Brian, her husband working on theirs – but I had to go see Mr. T first!  I went over and unzipped his door and woke him up – bless his heart, he was so tired and zipped up his windows as far as he could reach without getting out of bed! LOL.  I leaned over and finished getting his windows closed.  Then I went and helped Brian – well, tried too – again, I was pretty disoriented! Soon enough we were done, and not a moment too soon.  I went back to bed and listened to the rain plop on my tent and the thunder roll by. I love nature!!

The next morning it was windy for several hours and then the storm was all gone and we were left with muddy tents and everything blowing away on us!  Once the wind stopped though, it was easy enough to pack up – and since we knew we had to come home and set the gear up to wash and dry it – we weren’t all that concerned about things being neat!

Image

That tent was down to it’s last stake before we went and took it down. There was no point in righting the chairs, they’d just blow back over in the wind!

All in all – it was one of my best trips yet.  I had such a good time and really enjoyed hanging out with my friends and playing and just getting away from it all, even if it was just for the weekend.

11 thoughts on “That’s How We Roll

  1. Pingback: The Envelope Please! | Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study

  2. Good for you for taking Mr T camping like that! I’m so NOT into nature except going to the beach. I’m more like that expression: I’m outdoorsy like I like to drink beer outside on the porch. 🙂

    • LOL – don’t give me too much credit, cause it’s still sometimes a struggle! I pull my weight; however, I don’t do the tasks that will get me yucky (like haul the wood) and everyone comes to my rescue when I yelp due to a bug or spider! But, we always have fun. 🙂

  3. What a fun story! You guys are funny having all of your electricity and camping! haha! But I don’t blame you at all! Growing up, we roughed it. Mom and dad packed up everything and we hauled the boat up to the lake, then got in the boat and cruised up the lake to find a secluded cove with a nice beach and put up the tent. No electricity, no nothing. Of course, as a kid, I was almost always filthy dirty so it didn’t matter. My brother and I were in the water most of the time anyhow. Now that I have a 5th wheel (have never used it for actual camping), I am sort of dreading our trek through Canada this summer because we’ll be tent camping. With 4 dogs and 2 cats.

    • Oh my… that’s a lot of animals to camp with! LOL. Amy and Scott took their two dogs, but they never leave Amy’s side – the rest of our dogs wouldn’t stay. But, tons of people do take a dog or two… good luck with four and two cats!!

What do you think?

