Swan’s Song

Today Lee had a CT, as his labs keep showing that he has an infection, but he is on antibiotics and doesn’t have a fever.  They didn’t really find anything.  He went down and had more dialysis done today, since his other numbers were still high.

Friday he will have a Swan-Ganz right heart catheterization done.  The doctor will insert a small tube (catheter) into the right side of the heart and arteries leading to the lungs to measure function and flow.  (For future reference, this is really just called a right heart cath.)

Image

This is not the type of Swan Lee is having done…

My understanding is that his body isn’t functioning like they expect and his labs keep going up and they don’t know why.   I’m hoping that all they are doing is going to find a reason, or short of finding a reason, at least a treatment.  I don’t know.  All I know is that I know I’m tired of the ICU, and I get to go home everyday.  I feel so sorry for Lee having to be there everyday.  Not being able to even walk the halls for some change of scenery.  But, like I told him the other day, being miserable over it won’t help anything.  So, we will just keep asking for prayers and praying ourselves.  What will be will be.  My goal is to just help him and my parents out the best I can.

On a different note, my completely modest brother has become an exhibitionist.  Part of it is that he’s out of it so frequently he doesn’t realize he is exposing himself all the time, part of it is that he’s just so uncomfortable and I’m sure part of it is just the fact that he doesn’t care anymore!  All I know for sure is that I’ve spent the last two days hopping up to cover up his junk before he scared away dietary and environmental services!

Image

Last night T and I were in the living room and he was doing his homework… well, he was supposed to be doing his homework; however, he kept coming up with distractions.  “Hey mom did you know this?” “Hey mom…” “Hey mom what do you think about this?” “Hey mom I only have 1 chapter left.” “I wonder what other homework I have to do tonight.” “I think that I have to do this”  “I think that I should do that”.  I finally snapped back at him and, yeah… it got Tweeted later that night…

Image

Of course, then I had to RT it, it was pretty funny…

Tomorrow is Friday and I have a late lunch with BA scheduled, and I’m really looking forward to it.  It will be nice to get away for a bit.  Then, mom gave me Saturday off – I didn’t even ask or bring it up – but since she did, I’m planning on spending the morning with Mr. T and then the afternoon with my girlfriends.  Recharge my batteries! 🙂  Thanks for coming along on this journey with me guys!  You’ve been awesome!

That sounded like I am leaving.  I’m not.  You aren’t that lucky!

10 thoughts on “Swan’s Song

What do you think?

