Quick update on today’s surgery

Ok, my Word Press is acting up, and I’ve resorted to doing this on my phone.

First off Kari, it won’t let me comment on your blogs, so I want you to know that I hope it works out for you guys, either with moving or for things to improve at his job!

Secondly, thank you to everyone for their outpouring of support. I’m not usually a needy person, but my baby brother is like my son. With the 10 year age difference, we’ve always been close. It has been hard to see him going through this. His life is not what any one should go through, much less a 28 year old.

Today’s surgery was successful. This morning we were told that his kidneys were shutting down even more and so we really needed surgery to go well. I must tell you that he had a great team of doctors and nurses and staff. I mean, an awesome team. We stayed with Lee until the very end, riding down the elevator with him and then split ways at the OR. We were very blessed and the OR director came and got us out of the waiting room and took us to a private room. Me, dad, mom and Grammy Skeeter (mom’s mom). We were notified that the anesthesiologist said Lee was doing good and then an hour later we were notified that he had come through. We were back in his ICU room just minutes after he was. Again, let me tell you that he had a great team!

Once he was settled in his room, Grammy Skeeter and I left. It would be several hours before he really woke up. And I figured mom and dad could use some time together and with him.

It was so very emotional, and I will admit that I cried on the shoulder of the OR director, but I just love her and she took the tears in stride! I was okay until mom and dad shed tears! Well, I was kinda okay. Lol.

The road of recovery from this surgery will be up and down, and we still have his heart condition, gout and diabetes to contend with, but it feels good to have this part over with. I texted mom a bit ago and she said that he was starting to stir and that his color looked better.

I’ll go sit in ICU with him tomorrow morning and hopefully my mind will settle and I’ll be able to get more accomplished!

Thanks again for all of the prayers and support, I just wanted to give you a heads up that all went well and we are very happy right now. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Quick update on today’s surgery

  1. That’s good news so far!! I can’t imagine what you’re going through, but it sounds like you’ve got a great team around you. Big hugs!!

  2. Kate, I ended up deleting the two posts I made not long after I wrote them. I wanted to come up with a story that would flow better. I am pretty good at NOT re-reading my work. It is good to hear Lee’s surgery went well and I’m thinking of you guys. πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ He was just a little guy back then and it was so cute! No matter how much a pain in the neck our siblings are/were, we still love them and want them to do well. I know with my little brother, I wanted to wring his neck a thousand times over the years but you bet I’m beaming with pride when I hear of his accomplishments. I don’t know why I remembered Lee’s voice on the answering machine, but I do. I also remember attempting to shake up a bottle of ketchup in your parents’ kitchen and getting ketchup all over the place! I’m glad my memory made your folks smile! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

