Seriously, who is running the ad agencies now?

I loathe most commercials, well, we all probably do.  I’m sure I’m not alone.  At least, I hope I am not alone in this! 

The problem is, I think the commercials are getting worse.  Who is running the ad agencies now, and what on earth are we doing to make them think that they are doing a good job?  Have we, as a culture, become so blase’ that we stop paying attention unless the commercial is insanely annoying??

I will never eat another Kit-Kat bar.  Those commercials are beyond irritating.  I don’t need to hear people eating.  I really don’t.  

Image

I totally suffer from this!

I will never eat McDonald’s fish bites.  Mainly because I’m not sure what fish they are using, but also, cause, uh, have you seen those commercials??  If anyone says Fishy-Fishy to me I will smack you.  Right in the mouth.  Not joking.

I will never eat at Blimpies.  Fat girl walking into a place named Blimp.  Not gonna happen.  

I cannot switch my phone service to Verizon.  Do you remember that commercial when the mom was bawling and screaming uncontrollably because her daughter was leaving for college.  Yeah, not going to happen.  

How about how mean Best Buy was over the holiday season?  They were so mean to Santa, made a point to wait up and point out to him that they beat him to the punch.  I found those commercials awful.  I didn’t buy anything from Best Buy last season.  That may be why they are in danger of going out of business.  You should never be mean to Santa (Okay, you should never be mean, period.)

Maybe we should thank Netflix or Amazon video on demand, because now that we can skip through commercials, the ad agencies are trying their best to get our attention.

All I know is that I change channels not to see what else is on, but to avoid all of the commercials that drive me nuts.  And I will continue to do so.  I will also start recording more shows, that way, I can come in 10 minutes late and fast forward through the gut-wrenching, cringe inducing and eye and ear covering commercials.  I just can’t take it anymore.

Of course, Mr. T gets a laugh out of it when we’re sitting nicely on the couch and all of the sudden I make the halfpipe double rounder triple axle move to get to the remote so I can change the channel.  Sometimes it’s pretty funny.  Worth watching TV with me just to see what is going to send me vaulting over the edge of the couch to find the remote! 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Seriously, who is running the ad agencies now?

  1. Kate, I loved this! I can totally relate! I tried the fish bites at McDonald’s and they were ok but then I saw the commercial and it is pretty annoying! Then there’s the Geico commercial where he whines that he’s got a flat tire. And THEN, there’s a credit card commercial that has that song in the background “somebody left the gate open”. I want to punch that singer in the throat. Here lately since I like hockey, there’s the Budweiser commercial with the Pit Bull song. While, I kind of like his music, that commercial is annoying. He looks like this old man I used to know in New Mexico! hahahaha! I can also relate to the getting angry when we have to listen to people eat (or breathe). And that brings me to the Carl’s Jr commercial with the model on the beach eating one of their latest sandwiches. I hate every one of those commercials because of the sound of them eating!

    • I’m so glad you liked it because I was full of anger when I was writing it! I can’t remember what commercial triggered the rant, but I exploded all over the blog! Lol. I’m with you on those commercials. The Geiko one, ugh. And I’ll add Carls Jr to the list of places that I will never eat!! I haven’t seen it, but I still won’t give them my money since they have obnoxious commercials!

  2. YOu are clearly not a man. How can you watch tv without holding the remote or having it right next to you. I don’t have the patience for commercials either. So it’s either change the channel or do something during the interruptions.

  3. Hilarious! My husband and I watch everything on DVr or Netflix now. We even DVr sports and start late to ff thru commercials. The commercials are so painful to sit thru. I swear I would stomp on the geico gekko if I ever met him!

    • Yes!!! The are so painful! I don’t remember them being as bad as they’ve been the past couple of years. It’s just awful!! And, I’m so glad I’m not the only one that records stuff just so I can start late and fast forward!

What do you think?

