Lessons from the Movies: Lord of the Rings

I love movies.  I mean, really love movies.  I prefer action and comedy, I’ve been known to watch a chick flick or two and I still love cartoons and animation.  I’m dying for Despicable Me 2 and I want my own minions – I’m just saying.

Anyway, Mr. T and I went and watched The Hobbit the other day.  It was awesome!  I’m a big Sci Fi and Fantasy lover – and Mr. T has been good about indulging my Sci Fi addiction, but he was never really interested in Fantasy (apparently vampires don’t count, cause that dude loves the series Angel more than I do!  When Christian Kane comes up in conversation, Mr. T doesn’t mention his latest series, Leverage, he always mentions Angel!  Ladies, seriously, go Google Christian Kane… trust me!)

Squirrel!!  We saw The Hobbit and it was awesome.  When we left the theatre I suggested that we borrow the Lord of the Rings trilogy from his uncle and watch that.  We did.  Now, since Mr. T won’t indulge my Fantasy cravings (and boy, does that sound wrong!!) I’ve never seen these movies.  We sat down on a Sunday night and made it through the first two, and finished up on Monday night with the third.  I really enjoyed them.

Now, I have not searched this, refused to find any other blogs related to this, so if I’m covering old material and someone else has made this point, please forgive me.  Also, I get that I should be talking about the book, but unlike The Hobbit, I’ve never read the Lord of the Ring books, so we have to go with the movie version.

Ringstrilogyposter

I liked Frodo, and as the “main” character, I could see why people talked about him; however, I LOVED Sam, the best friend character played by Sean Astin.  Sam was there, every step of the way, always treated Mr. Frodo with respect and never seemed to mind that Frodo was going to get all of the attention.  Sam put up with tons of crap, from the other characters, from that Gollum and from Frodo himself.  Towards the end of the third movie, he impressed me most.  They are on the volcano and Frodo just can’t walk any further and Sam says “I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you”.

This resonated with me.  I’m a big believer that everyone has their own journey, their path to walk and that I should be here to help them along the way.  I’ve told my friends how pleased I am to be part of their journey and tried to be there for them during the flowers blooming stages and there when they stumbled and needed help over the uneven ground.

One does not simply walk into Mordor.

One does not simply walk into Mordor.

I’m not a patient person.  Now, I will so very gladly admit that I am a lot more patient now than I was 15 years ago.  Having a kid can do that to you.  I have no choice but to slow down.  To let him tie his own shoes, dress himself and figure things out on his own.  But do I apply this to the rest of my life?  As I was watching the movie, I was pissed at Sam.  The end result is that the ring has to be destroyed (oh, oops, spoiler alert) and that is all that will save Middle Earth.  So, when Frodo stumbled and fell, I could picture myself there, and seriously, I’m not sure that I would be as wise as Sam was.  I wanted Sam to just grab the ring and go toss it in the fire.  I mean, really, they’ve made it that far; the ring has to be destroyed.  It’s a no-brainer.  In the back of my brain, I understood what Sam was doing – he was letting Frodo walk his own path, continue his own journey – but my overwhelming feeling was for Sam to just get the ring and destroy it.

Instead, with much wisdom, Sam told Frodo “I can’t carry it, but I can carry you”. I hope that I can be the friend, mother, sister, aunt and daughter that will allow people to walk their own path and carry them when they can’t go on instead of getting frustrated and doing it for them. I hope that I can be the type of person that is okay standing in the background while others get the spotlight.  I hope that I gain the wisdom to see and act as Sam did.

Of course, Frodo irritated me even further when he couldn’t go back to living his life again after that adventure and took off – but, that’s for another time.

13 thoughts on “Lessons from the Movies: Lord of the Rings

  1. I liked the second one the best. My wife really was into them. We saw the second one when she was six months pregnant. The seats were small. She was on the edge of hers the whole time and did not get up once to pea. So, yeah she clearly enjoyed it as well.
    Maybe, I am being weird when I say this but I am concvinced that Sam was a little bit too much of a friend to Mr. Frodo. Catch my drift. I think there are some overtones. I’m yours Mr. Frodo. Oh, take me Sam.
    Okay, maybe I am being a bit childish here. Hey, I do hang out with high schoolers all day.

  2. Remind {again} me to loan you the series to read! Seriously – it will make so much more sense why Sam can’t just grab the ring and finish the job! You will be even more impressed with him in the books….promise!

    And – whether you realize it or not – you are more like Sam than you might believe. The ring represents the “one” thing that takes hold of us, that won’t let us go, that wants to strangle the life out of us. In “our” life, think of the ring as divorce, death, job loss, anything that is seriously life changing – that is the ring. Think of the act of Sam carrying Frodo – that’s a friend stepping up to make dinner, clean the bathroom, or help figure out bills in the hopeless scenario for the friends. The friend {you or I} cannot go through the death, divorce, etc for our friend, but we can help carry them through to the end of their journey.

    Some people are able to pick up their lives after their earth-shattering event – some people aren’t. They are forever changed – like Frodo was by carrying the burden of the “ring”.

    Love the series, love the movies, and I seriously love the actors who played the characters – yum! 🙂

    • I’m thrilled that you think I’m more like Sam than I realize, cause that is what I strive to be. I get what you are saying – it makes total sense, and helps that you see me in the positive light; however, I gotta admit, there are times that I really just want to smack some sense into people. Huh, that’s a pretty big character flaw in me. All of the sudden I don’t think I’m as compassionate as I thought I was!

      NOTE: to anyone reading this blog, you have not driven me to the point where I want to pick you up and throw you and your “ring” into the active volcano.

      • LMAO!!!

        I have to say – the times I’ve seen where you’ve “wanted” to throw someone into the volcano – they totally deserved it! I would have gladly helped!!

      • hehehehe – okay, You’ve validated that I’m not a completely awful human being! That does make me feel much better that I’m not totally irrational when it comes to throwing people into the volcano.

  3. If you read the book, several years pass before Frodo leaves the Shire. And when they return to the shire it’s shrouded in darkness – other hobbits have taken over Bag End and are bullying everyone else in the hobbit community. That aside, I just watched the series again for the umpteenth time and was, again, bowled over by the beauty of Sam’s friendship and loyalty.

    • Okay, that makes me feel better about Frodo not being able to stay, I’ll retract that! But, yes, I am in awe of Sam, he’s the real hero in my mind. And, yes, I’m totally okay that when I grow up I want to be like a fictional character (I’m still upset that I’ll never be able to attend Hogwarts)! I’m just inspired by his character’s character. Does that make sense? LOL

      • Makes perfect sense to me! There are characters in books who seem more real to me than a lot of people I know.

        And I understand how you feel. I’m afraid my local public school just didn’t measure up to Hogwarts either – I feel very ripped off. 🙂

What do you think?

