Google is Not Your Friend

I’m an expert Googler.  Yes, it’s a real word, Google it.  Okay, I don’t know if it’s a real, real word, but you know what I mean, so that counts.

Image

Having a world of information at our fingertips is not always a good thing.  Let me just tell you up front, if you don’t feel well, don’t check WebMD.  Just trust me on that one.  But, that’s not my point.  My point is that I don’t know that the information overload is what is best for us. 

While I am a very optimistic and happy person, I’m also a realist and like a lot of information.  I like to be well informed.  I had a friend call the other day and was surprised when I didn’t know an answer to something.  She said that I always know everything – not that I’m a know-it-all – we cleared that point up, but that I’m a veritable fountain of information.  Jack of all trades, master of none is how I refer to myself.  (Of course, I use it positively, vs. the negative connotation that is frequently used in that context!)

I enjoy a cup of coffee at my elbow, my laptop in front of me and my fingers flying over the keyboard as I search for one thing or another.  I do frequent searches as it relates to work.  I do even more searches when it comes to personal time.  Just yesterday I searched for the following information: home office deduction, standard tax deduction, how to spell elicit, brain natriuretic peptide, and pneumonia with heart failure. 

Needless to say, some of the answers were not what I wanted to hear, err, read.  I’ve mentioned before that Lee, my 27 yr. old brother has congestive heart failure (CHF) brought on by his cardiomyopathy.  We hit the 6 month mark just the other week and he’s holding his own.  In a few months they will go in and implant a defibrillator.  The next step after that is to get him on the heart transplant list.  That’s the history.  He’s living with mom and dad currently, as that is just the best situation.  I’m getting back to my point, I promise. 

So yesterday mom came downstairs and turned on the living room light, and then went “eek” and turned the light back off.  Apparently Lee wasn’t feeling well and had gotten up and dressed and gathered his stuff so that he could go to the hospital with her that morning (reminder, mom works at a hospital).  He was sitting on the couch, resting, in the dark, waiting for her to come downstairs and he startled her.  I’m sure “startled” is putting it mildly. 

Image

They drove in and stopped at the ER.  I got a call from dad about 9 am to give me the update and ask me to go let the dogs out at their house in about an hour.  The rest of the day was me passing along updates to my friends and family.  In order to do that, I had to Google some terms.  You know those terms that you just know – but those that don’t deal with CHF wouldn’t know.  So, when dad texted me ‘BNP=1000, severe heart failure=900’ – I know that means that Lee’s hormone marker shows he’s past severe heart failure – this is the point where he would be turning blue.  But, I had to be able to dilute that and make it understandable for friends and family.  So, I Googled brain natriuretic peptide to make sure I was explaining it correctly.  My next text from dad was ‘current DX is bronchitis/pneumonia’.  Okay, diagnosed with upper respiratory infection and a lung infection.  Well, that’s not good.  A lung infection interferes with your breathing, makes it harder for your heart to pump the blood to your body.  Huh, that can’t be good to someone who already has a weak heart.  Now I had to Google the combo of CHF and pneumonia. 

Yeah, I shouldn’t have done that. 

Now, I know I’m not the only one that does this; I frequently get texts from friends telling me they shouldn’t have Googled.  One friend in particular I frequently have to tell to just “Step away from the Google.  Danger, Will Robinson, Danger!”

Image

This leads me to the only conclusion that is logical: Google is not your friend.  It will not call you once a year to wish you a Happy Birthday. It will not send a Get Well card and it will not randomly call to check on how you are doing. 

So, Google, as much as I love you, I need a break.  You just aren’t my friend. 

13 thoughts on “Google is Not Your Friend

  1. Pingback: I Learn Something New Everyday | Did That Just Happen Blog

  2. I understand the pain of a Google overdose! I also have friends I have taught to Google and quickly regretted because they did not Google responsibly. It’s sad really.

    I hope your brother has a quick recovery and is able to return home soon. I said a quick prayer from him.

  3. Hey don’t talk smack on my friend Google. I adore it. Sadly it just isn’t that good for me, kinda like the amount of chocolate I’ve indulged in this week. But they both served their purpose 😉

  4. Wait, wait. I am a little slow on the upkeep when it comes to medical stuff. This sounds very serious about your brother. I thought he was in a holding pattern as you noted earlier in the post. Now, I am not so clear.

    • He was holding his own, but didn’t feel well earlier in the week, and by Wednesday he knew something was wrong and had mom and dad take him to the ER. He has bronchitis and pneumonia currently. He’s been in the hospitals since Wednesday morning. The doctors won’t even discuss when he gets to go home at this point. I make light of it, but the reality is that it is extremely serious right now. But, on top of his regular med (heart failure, BP, aspirin, diuretic) they are giving him IV antibiotics, breathing treatments, morphine for the pain as he needs it and today we added anti-nausea. Tomorrow the doc might let him get out of bed and try sitting in a chair. So, we are keeping our hopes up, fingers crossed, getting prayers from family and friends and praying for him and his doctors.

What do you think?

