Rice with dinner

There is a lot of great cooking advice out there, specifically on how to make rice more flavorful.  Rachael Ray says replace some water with chicken broth, or coconut milk.  Paula Deen makes a great mexican rice, with butter (naturally) and onions, peppers, tomatoes and more.  

Who doesn’t like more flavor?? When it comes to rice, ME! Tonight I’m making the poor man’s chicken cacciatore (which means I dumped a jar of spaghetti sauce over my chicken tenderloins into the crock pot this morning.  Oh, I also had 1/4 bag of frozen peas and carrots, so, I threw that in, too.  Hey, we need our veggies!)

Anyway… I like my rice plain.  Nothing added at all.  I also always make a double helping when I make rice.  Now, let me tell you why.  

Breakfast rice!  It takes me back to childhood when mom would make this for us (I assume you made it mom, but correct me if I’m wrong).  It’s cheap, easy and oh so yummy!  So, I know that anytime I make a dish with rice, I will make double and the next morning I will have warm, buttery, sugary rice for breakfast.  

It’s good to take time to appreciate the little things in life! 

Oh, and it snowed this morning.  Apparently about 5 am.  It was not suppose to snow.  Not only did it snow, but we had a Thunder Snow Storm.  Tons of thunder… and snow.  We got about 1″ in total on my side of town.  Enough to cover the ground and cause some serious wrecks all around the metroplex.  Let me repeat, it was not suppose to snow.  Even the weathermen mentioned it.  Sigh… I hate the winter.  

Maybe I don’t always do well at appreciating the little things in life, but in my defense, snow is not a “little thing” in my world.  

5 thoughts on “Rice with dinner

  1. you guys crack me up.
    Yes, MMK, I still only own 4 pairs of long pants. I’m in my Cowboy sweats today. 🙂 and 1″ of snow IS bad, mainly because it means that the weather is cold enough to produce snow!!
    And, no, Karaboo, I was not still snuggled in bed. I had taken T to school at 6:50 am that morning… only to find out that wrestling practice was cancelled and coach hadn’t let us know 😦

    • LOL!!! That means inches – as in, we got 1 INCH of snow….and slush….oh and some bridges froze over…..and it was all melted away by around 10am. The weather this past week was in the 50’s and 60’s….so the ground wasn’t anywhere near cold enough for anything to stick.

      I swear, these Texans do NOT know how to drive in weather like this. (Spoken from a Yankee transplant whose parents taught her to drive on the ice/snow.)

  2. Agreed!! Lightening and thunder do not snow make! Even worse was getting rattled out of bed for it. Add in wind-chills and it made for a miserable morning for me trying to get to work.

    I assume you were still all snuggled in your bed? I’d call you a name, but I’d have been right there with you if I’d had the opportunity!!

What do you think?

