Christmas sweaters

First off, I lied last night to Mr. T.  I didn’t mean to, but the second half of this post will explain it all.  

Okay, maybe it wasn’t last night – I think it was Sunday, before the game.  Time is meaningless to me, well, not meaningless, but definitely not linear.  Time is not a straight line in my reality. 

The point, we were running through Wal-Mart.  He wanted out of the house, he hadn’t picked out his special ornament this year, and, well, Wal-Mart is open and Hobby Lobby isn’t (which leads me to believe it was Sunday).  We walked past a collection of holiday sweater vests.  You know, those tacky things that are pulled out by women every where this time of year.  I looked at him with a smug smile on my face and said “Aren’t you glad that you don’t have a mom that wears those?!” Okay, first off, I know better than to be smug, it’ll bite me in the butt every time.  Keep reading.  Secondly – did I not state several blogs ago that I was working on NOT comparing myself to others??  Did I not go on and on in detail how it isn’t healthy?? Obviously I’m still a work in progress, but at least in retrospect I recognized it.  And, it was suppose to be funny, a joke, but because I was smug, and it bit me in the butt, now it has turned into so much more than a joke about the stupid Christmas sweater vest!! 

To recap, cause I kinda went off there:  Me to Mr. T: “Aren’t you glad you don’t have a mom that wears these (insert unsaid but thought smugly in my head ‘tacky Christmas sweater vests’)?” 

To which T replied “Yes, I’m glad, but I’m stuck with this” and he tugged on the sleeve of my admittedly bright tie-dye shirt.  Well crap.  That’s beyond true.  I had to laugh, and said something along the lines of “good point, at least with the sweater vest, that’s only one time a year, you’re stuck with tie-dye all year long!”  We also had a laugh, cause my mom is a Christmas sweater vest person. 

The adage “when you point your finger, there are three pointing back at you” was totally true that day in Wally World.  I failed at not comparing myself to others (even though I really meant it as a joke) and I was smug about it as well – and it was pointed out that, well, I have my own little quirk that others laugh about, so I had no right to be smug.  

All of this came from a random joke I was making as we ran through Wal-Mart picking stuff up.  WELCOME TO MY BRAIN.  

It gets worse… 

Tonight is Diva Dinner. It’s the monthly get together of the girls.  Once a month, those of us that can, get together for dinner.  We pick a different place each time (with very few exceptions.) Every October is Diva Date night and we bring our husbands, significant others, I’ve brought a co-worker before, and sometimes, us single diva’s are each other’s date.  For the most part though, it’s just us girls.  And we discuss life, work, kids, grand-kids, each other and whatever comes to mind! It’s just one night a week that we can step away from it all.  Of course, in my case, I still have to cook Mr. T dinner, but I’ve decided that if I get a treat that night, he can too, so sometimes he gets to pick out a jar of spaghetti-o’s or something that he doesn’t get to eat on a regular basis.  But, again, I digress.  I think that I’m stalling – afraid to get to the point and tell you the rest of the story.  

Let me just dive in.  In the mornings I get up and shower and just randomly throw on clothes.  Usually it’s jean shorts and a t-shirt.  It’s freaking freezing down here today, so I threw on my black pj pants and a knit long sleeve shirt.  I sit at my desk and work, and it’s Tuesday, so it’s laundry day, which means I fit in laundry during the day.  I went to my closet to put up two hand wash shirts from last week that have been hanging there and while I was in my closet, I pulled out a pair of jeans and looked for a top to wear tonight at dinner.  As I mentioned, it’s freaking freezing down here so I needed something warm.  It’s our Christmas dinner, so I want something festive.  

I pulled out a Holiday sweater… not a sweater vest mind you… but I pulled out a damn holiday sweater.  Complete with mistletoe.  

Yeah, apparently I am that mom.  See, I told you me opening my mouth would come back to bite me in the butt!!! I started to take a picture to attach, so there’d be the visual component, but I don’t want to torture you!    

10 thoughts on “Christmas sweaters

What do you think?

