30 Teenagers at IHOP

Yup, that’s what I did last night, sat with 30 teenagers at IHOP.  Yes, that just happened.  30.  I counted twice.  And do you know how much noise 30 teenagers make?  I hope you never have to find out!  But seriously, it didn’t really bother me.  First, my house has always been open to the kids.  It is not uncommon to have half a dozen or more at a time.  Second, despite the noise, they were a very polite and well-behaved group. And, they were having fun.  Nothing in this world sounds better than the laughter that emanates from kids having fun.

How did I end up at IHOP at 9 pm at night with 30 teenagers? Mr. T is in theater and last night was the opening performance of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.  He attends a brand new high school, the 3rd in our district, and it’s a beautiful place, and they only admitted Freshmen and Sophomores this first year, mainly because the district we live in is a very proud, full of traditions and supportive district.  When new schools are built and the zone lines change, many parents stand in line to fill out waivers “I went here, so my child will go here.” Having said that, the theater director came over from one of the other high schools, and his students from that school have been so very supportive of the students at the new school.  Several made it to the first performance, they’ve invited them to the theatre group on FB, and they introduced our kids to the opening night (or sometimes closing night) tradition of IHOP.  I was out of town the last time this happened, and my dad took my place and got Mr. T there and he sat at a separate table and drank coffee.  I need to call my dad and tell him thank you.  Now that I know what he endured, I have a much better appreciation for what he did for me!

Here’s a snapshot I took during the performance, and one after of Mr. T and his partner in the play.  Oh, and the play was awesome!

Mr. Beaver

Mr. T as Mr. Beaver. Ignore the heads in there, apparently I tend to only focus on what I’m shooting and I fail to look at everything else in the shot! Plus, I was sneaking the shot and trying not to disturb those behind me! 🙂

Mr. and Mrs. Beaver

Mr. and Mrs. Beaver – the makeup and costumes were rocking! (Side note, this is Mr. T’s girlfriend in real life.)

11 thoughts on “30 Teenagers at IHOP

  1. Yup, it is filled in ALL THE WAY out there! The area on the north side of the highway is all houses and businesses. And the east side of 395 where Brown school is is ALSO pretty much all filled in, now. Reno is like a part of California, now. I think 395 somewhere has been renamed I-580? Something like that, which is totally a California thing. The valley on the back side of the hills between Sparks and Pyramid Lake is all subdivided too. The area where we used to turn off of south McCarran to go up to Moss Lake (by Lakeridge) is all subdivided. WAY overgrown. Where I used to live is still the same for the most part, but it seems like the “good” people that lived there for so many years are disappearing. Either leaving Reno or moving further out of town. The freeway system is ALWAYS under construction and still can’t handle the population. I hate driving there!

  2. Kate, you were already gone when the new Galena High School was being built and opened up for business. They only admitted Freshman and Sophomores and maybe Juniors when they opened their doors. If I had been younger, I would have been zoned for Galena even though I physically lived closer to Reno High. Not sure if you’ve been back to Reno since you left, but the whole Callahan Ranch area is completely transformed. Once the new high school was built, houses and businesses came in and now you can drive from Reno to where you used to live and you never really leave “town”! It’s insane! No more long, boring drive down Virginia Street until it turns into 395. They’ve extended the freeway all the way to the 341/431/395 intersection. Kind of sad to see, but that’s progress for ya! As for 30 kids in one place, I almost came close to that on the ferry coming to Alaska. We picked up maybe 20-or so teens in Ketchikan that were going back to their homes in Juneau and Haines. The ferry is the only way they can get to their games and other school events. I must say I was impressed, despite the noise, they were quite respectful and polite. 🙂

    • I’ve heard that it had all changed – and a few years ago mom and dad went back and took pictures of our old house, Kari, I didn’t believe it was our house!! It was insane how different it looked, I swear, they painted it blue, and took out all of the landscaping we had done, removed the deck we had built around the side of the house… it was bizarre. If the rest has changed that much, I’m not sure I want to go back! I can’t imagine that the town has filled in all the way to Mt. Rose highway… that just floors me. I can’t even picture that – Nope, I’m sitting here trying and I just can’t! LOL

      And, yes, I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how polite the kids are, I can tolerate the noise when they are having fun and being responsible.

What do you think?

